Quick answer: The NOCO Boost X GBX55 is the best default here for a mixed 12V fleet because its official engine fit reaches 7.5L gasoline and 5.0L diesel, while 60W USB-C input gives a practical depot recharge path. Put the smaller GB40 in assigned passenger vehicles whose engines fit its 6.0L-gas/3.0L-diesel limit. Move to the GB70 for larger 12V gasoline or diesel work vehicles. Keep the 18-pound Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 at a powered depot when 46-inch leads, a built-in automatic charger, and shop custody matter more than carry weight. Choose by voltage, engine fit, clamp access, storage, and ownership before peak-amp labels.
Affiliate disclosure: The Pro Tool Kit may earn a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases, at no extra cost to you. We did not use current price, stock, delivery, star ratings, discounts, or invented start tests to rank these products. Product specifications, manuals, and exact Amazon routes were checked on July 16, 2026.
The Work-Vehicle Start-Readiness Framework
A fleet jump starter is useful only when the right unit is charged, physically reaches the approved connection points, and is assigned to someone before a no-start. Use these six lanes to decide where the equipment belongs and when it stops being the right tool.
Why voltage and engine fit come before peak amps
All four units on this page target 12V vehicle batteries. The three NOCO products publish gasoline and diesel displacement limits: 6.0L/3.0L for GB40, 7.5L/5.0L for GBX55, and 8.0L/6.0L for GB70. Clore publishes 1700 peak amps and 425 cranking amps for JNC660 but does not publish a directly comparable gas/diesel displacement limit on the current product page. That missing field stays missing.
Peak-current labels can help identify a model inside one maker’s lineup, but they are not a standardized promise that two products will perform equally under the same battery condition, temperature, engine, cable, or operator setup. A small fleet should gate each vehicle by target voltage and the largest officially supported engine first, then perform an actual clamp-access check during the return window.
Turn the monthly check into an owned workflow
TPTK can connect vehicle assignments, inspection forms, charge reminders, exceptions, work orders, and manager reporting so the kit does not disappear into a truck without an owner.
Portable jump starter comparison for small fleets
Compact assigned 12V kit
Official engine fit: up to 6.0L gas / 3.0L diesel.
Published label: 1000A peak.
Internal battery / weight: 24Wh lithium-ion / 2.45 lb.
Access field: clamp cable length not stated in the reviewed official sources.
Readiness: charge LEDs; full charge before use; fleet adds a documented monthly status check.
Protection: spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection in normal mode.
Mixed-fleet fast-recharge lane
Official engine fit: up to 7.5L gas / 5.0L diesel.
Published label: 1750A peak.
Internal battery / weight: 46Wh lithium-ion / 2.58 lb.
Access field: clamp cable length not stated in the reviewed official sources.
Readiness: up to 60W USB-C input/output; cold/hot status indicators.
Protection: spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection in normal mode.
Larger-engine 12V lane
Official engine fit: up to 8.0L gas / 6.0L diesel.
Published label: 2000A peak.
Internal battery / weight: lithium-ion / 5.0 lb.
Access field: clamp cable length not stated in the reviewed official sources.
Readiness: charge LEDs plus USB and 12V input/output paths.
Protection: spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection in normal mode.
Depot lead-acid lane
Official engine fit: no comparable displacement limit stated.
Published labels: 1700 peak / 425 cranking amps.
Internal battery / weight: sealed lead-acid / 18 lb.
Access field: 46-inch #2 AWG welding-cable leads.
Readiness: built-in automatic charger; recharge after use and every three months unused.
Protection: follow the connection sequence; the manual does not present it as foolproof.
Comparison note: cable length for GB40, GBX55, and GB70 is recorded as not stated in the official sources reviewed for this guide. Amazon listing copy is not used to fill that field.
1. NOCO Boost Plus GB40: best compact assigned-vehicle lane

The GB40 is the cleanest assigned-vehicle choice in this group. NOCO lists a 24Wh internal lithium-ion battery, USB input/output, a 100-lumen light, and normal-mode spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection. Its official support is the smallest of the three NOCO lanes, which is useful: it forces the fleet to assign it only where the published engine envelope fits.
The cable-length field is not published in the official sources reviewed here. Do not assume that a compact case means the clamps will reach a tucked battery, remote positive post, or approved chassis ground. Open the vehicle manual, identify the designated points, and test the physical route without placing leads near fans, belts, hot surfaces, or closing panels.
2. NOCO Boost X GBX55: best mixed-fleet default

The GBX55 earns the mixed-fleet recommendation because it expands the official engine envelope while remaining close to GB40 in listed weight. NOCO says a compatible 60W USB-C power source can fully recharge it in about 1.2 hours and can provide a boost-ready state after about five minutes from empty. Those are manufacturer charging claims under compatible conditions, not promises about how many vehicles a crew can start.
Its cold and hot indicators matter operationally. The manual says a flashing cold indicator means the unit is approaching its lower limit and should warm up; a solid cold indicator means it is too cold to jump and only the flashlight remains available. That makes a winter readiness check more useful than discovering a cold lockout during a dispatch.
3. NOCO Boost HD GB70: best larger-engine 12V lane

GB70 is the largest-engine NOCO recommendation on this page. Its current official page lists an IP65 housing with ports closed, a 400-lumen light, USB charging, and a 12V output for compatible accessories. The manual lists an internal lithium-ion battery and a -4 F to 122 F operating range, with charging limited to 32 F through 104 F.
That wider product envelope does not make it a 24V truck tool or a substitute for a commercial boost cart. It also does not solve access by itself: the reviewed official sources do not provide a comparable clamp cable length. Verify remote terminals, battery covers, and grounding points on the exact vehicle before standardizing.
4. Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660: best depot and shop lane

The JNC660 is a different custody decision, not merely another number in a lithium ranking. Clore lists a sealed lead-acid internal battery, industrial-grade clamps, a built-in automatic charger, a voltmeter, and a 12V accessory outlet. Its 46-inch #2 AWG leads are the only published cable-length field among these four products.
The tradeoff is discipline. The manual says to charge on receipt, immediately after each use, and every three months when unused. It also advises against storing the unit below 50 F for optimum jump-start performance, forbids charging or jumping a frozen battery, and calls for a three-minute cooldown when a vehicle does not start within six seconds. The manual explicitly says the JNC660 will not start every vehicle and does not call it foolproof.
Lithium vs. lead-acid: custody changes the answer
Lithium packs win the carry-weight comparison here: 2.45 pounds for GB40, 2.58 pounds for GBX55, and 5 pounds for GB70. That makes them plausible for assigned vehicles and route crews. Their charge LEDs, lights, and USB features can help with routine readiness, but those features do not replace a recorded inspection owner or prove the pack is ready after months in storage.
JNC660 is 18 pounds and belongs where that weight is acceptable. In exchange, the fleet gets published 46-inch heavy leads, a built-in automatic charger, a voltmeter, and a clear recharge cadence. A powered depot can keep that routine visible; an unassigned truck compartment usually cannot.
For every chemistry, treat clamp access as a fit test. Locate the vehicle maker’s approved positive and ground points, route the clamps with the hood and covers in their safe positions, and confirm the leads avoid moving and hot parts. Do not infer cable length or reach from product photography.
Cold, charging, and storage boundaries
The NOCO manuals reviewed for GB40, GBX55, and GB70 list an operating range of -4 F to 122 F, charging from 32 F to 104 F, and storage from -4 F to 122 F with an average storage range of 32 F to 77 F. They also call for dry, secure storage. GBX55 adds explicit cold/hot status indicators and can refuse boost until its internal temperature returns to range.
Clore’s guidance is different: for optimum jump-start performance, do not store JNC660 below 50 F. That does not mean a warm jump starter makes a frozen vehicle battery safe. Both Clore and AAA say not to jump a frozen or visibly damaged battery. A winter fleet plan needs a safe pack-storage location plus a stop rule for the vehicle battery itself.
A six-step fleet jump-starter inspection workflow
- Record the vehicle fit. Note 12V battery confirmation, engine displacement, battery chemistry, approved connection points, and whether the clamps reach safely. Keep the applicable vehicle and product manuals available.
- Assign custody. Record the unit model/serial, named vehicle or depot location, inspection owner, charge owner, and escalation contact. Do not let a shared pack move without updating the record.
- Inspect monthly. TPTK recommends a documented monthly check of case, clamps, cables, ports, charge indicators, storage condition, and vehicle assignment. This monthly fleet control is an editorial recommendation, not a NOCO calendar claim.
- Recharge by the applicable rule. Recharge after use. For JNC660, also follow Clore’s every-three-month unused cadence. For NOCO, verify the charge LEDs and bring the unit to full charge before relying on it.
- Operate only by both manuals. Confirm battery condition and voltage, use the designated connection points, keep clear of moving parts, and follow exact timing and disconnect instructions. Manual override disables documented protection and is not a routine fleet procedure.
- Log the event and escalate. Record vehicle, date, symptoms, result, and follow-up. A recurring no-start goes to battery/electrical-system testing, charging, repair, or replacement rather than repeated boosting.
Connect this physical control to the small-business fleet-management guide for maintenance records and inspections, the work-order software guide for recurring checks and repairs, and the mobile-mechanic OBD2 scanner guide for diagnostic hardware. Keep the jobs separate: portable tire inflators own pressure readiness, fleet dash cams own video evidence, and fleet GPS trackers own location/account custody.
When not to use a jump starter
- Planned storage or a discharged but serviceable battery: use the vehicle battery maker’s approved charger or maintainer. A short boost does not restore or maintain battery health.
- Recurring slow starts or repeated boosts: route the vehicle to battery and charging-system testing. AAA recommends professional diagnosis rather than treating each no-start as a standalone event.
- Cracks, bulging, leakage, unusual heat, odor, frost, or suspected freezing: do not jump. Isolate the situation and use qualified service or roadside help.
- Unknown voltage, chemistry, connection point, EV/hybrid procedure, or operator uncertainty: stop and follow the vehicle maker’s procedure or call professional help.
- 24V vehicles, heavy equipment, frequent recovery, or shop production work: use voltage- and duty-specific professional equipment and a trained fleet/service program.
Make every no-start create the right follow-up
TPTK can build a mobile inspection and exception workflow that turns a jump event into a battery test, work order, manager alert, and closed-loop service record.
Final recommendation
Standardize on GBX55 when one model covers the largest 12V engine in a mixed light-duty roster and a compatible 60W USB-C charging station is part of the program. Use GB40 for smaller assigned vehicles, GB70 for larger officially supported 12V engines, and JNC660 at a powered depot where its long leads and charging routine have an owner. Do not standardize until each vehicle passes the voltage, engine, connection-point, clamp-reach, storage, and custody checks.
Portable jump starter FAQ for small fleets
What is the best portable jump starter for a small business fleet?
The NOCO GBX55 is the best mixed-fleet default among these picks when every target vehicle uses a compatible 12V lead-acid battery and the largest engine fits its official 7.5L gasoline or 5.0L diesel limit. Use GB40 for smaller assigned vehicles, GB70 for larger supported 12V engines, and JNC660 for maintained depot custody with long cables.
How many peak amps does a work-vehicle jump starter need?
There is no single peak-amp number that guarantees a fleet fit. Start with 12V compatibility and the manufacturer’s official gasoline or diesel engine-displacement support, then verify clamp access, battery condition, temperature, charge state, and procedure. Peak-current labels are not treated here as standardized cross-brand tests.
Is lithium or lead-acid better for a fleet jump starter?
Lithium is better for light assigned-vehicle kits in this comparison because the three NOCO units weigh 2.45 to 5 pounds. The 18-pound lead-acid JNC660 is better suited to a powered depot when its 46-inch leads, built-in automatic charger, voltmeter, and centralized maintenance routine are more important than carry weight.
How often should a fleet jump starter be checked and recharged?
TPTK recommends a documented monthly condition and charge-state check plus recharge after use. Clore specifically says to recharge JNC660 immediately after each use and every three months when unused. The reviewed NOCO sources require a full charge before use and provide charge indicators but do not state the same calendar interval, so the monthly NOCO check is a fleet-control recommendation rather than a manufacturer claim.
Can these jump starters be used on 24V trucks or any EV or hybrid?
No blanket approval applies. These four products are presented for compatible 12V lead-acid vehicle batteries, not 24V systems. EV and hybrid procedures vary and can include separate low-voltage systems and restricted connection points. Follow the exact vehicle manual and product manual or use qualified service when the procedure is not explicit.
When should a business stop jump-starting and replace or service the battery?
Stop immediately for a cracked, bulging, leaking, unusually hot, odorous, or suspected frozen battery. Route recurring no-starts, slow cranking, or failed boost attempts to battery and electrical-system testing. A charger or maintainer is for planned charging or storage; roadside or professional service is the safer path when battery condition, voltage, or connection procedure is uncertain.
Official sources, method, and correction policy
Research status: source and route check completed July 16, 2026. This is a source-backed editorial comparison, not a firsthand start test. TPTK compared official target voltage, engine fit, published current labels, internal chemistry, weight, cable/access fields, charging methods, temperature limits, documented protections, and operating caveats. Unknown fields were not filled from retailer copy.
Product revisions, manuals, and vehicle procedures can change. Readers should use the current manual supplied with the exact unit and the current vehicle manual. For a factual correction, email hello@theprotoolkit.com.
- NOCO GB40 official specifications and official user guide
- NOCO GBX55 official product page and official user guide
- NOCO GB70 official product page and official user guide
- Clore JNC660 official product page and official operator manual
- AAA battery inspection, voltage, damaged-battery, and professional-help guidance
- AAA battery testing, replacement, and frozen-battery guidance