Original research · checked July 13, 2026
College laptop requirements vary by program—and “student laptop” is not one standard
TheProToolKit reviewed official public device policies from 40 programs across 10 professions. Each row records what the program actually published about laptops, Windows, macOS, Chromebooks, iPads or tablets, memory, storage, and assessment software.
Direct answer: verify your specific program before buying. In this benchmark, no reviewed policy explicitly approved a Chromebook as the primary device, 16 explicitly blocked it, and iPad treatment ranged from allowed or supplemental to blocked.
“Not one of 40 reviewed program policies explicitly approved a Chromebook as the primary device.”
In the coded sample, 16 explicitly blocked Chromebooks, 23 did not state a Chromebook rule, and one issued-device program was coded not applicable. Quote with the sample and methodology context.
This is a purposive benchmark, not a census or nationally representative survey. It uses a fixed quota of four programs in each field so readers can compare public-policy patterns without pretending the sample estimates every U.S. college. “Not stated” means the reviewed official source did not publish that rule; it does not mean the institution has no internal rule.
What the 40-program benchmark found
- Chromebook approval was absent: zero of 40 sources explicitly approved a Chromebook as the primary device; 16 blocked it, 23 did not state a rule, and one issued-device program was not applicable.
- iPad policy was genuinely split: 13 blocked an iPad or tablet as the primary device; 11 explicitly allowed it or described a limited or supplemental role; 15 did not state a rule; one issued-device program was not applicable.
- Secure assessment software was common: 21 of 40 policies named ExamSoft or Examplify. Other rows named platforms such as NBME secure testing, LockDown Browser, Trajecsys, or generic secure-testing software.
- Specification disclosure was inconsistent: 14 of 40 sources published a numeric RAM minimum, while 11 published a numeric storage minimum. A buyer cannot safely infer missing specifications from the profession alone.
All 40 program policies, with row-level official sources
The cards below avoid a wide scrolling table. Every row links to the official public policy reviewed on July 13, 2026. Status words are conservative: if the official source did not say it, the field is marked “Not stated.”
Nursing
Duquesne University School of Nursing
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Supplement only
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 256 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Policy says an iPad may supplement but does not replace the required computer.
University of Virginia School of Nursing
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Traditional Windows laptops MacBooks and keyboard-equipped Surface devices meet the published policy.
Walla Walla Community College Nursing
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 4 GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ATI; ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Published guide says tablets including iPads are not sufficient.
Moraine Park Technical College Nursing
Compatible device required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Allowed
- Published minimum RAM
- 4 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 4 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The policy lists supported iPadOS versions but excludes Chromebook Android Linux and ARM Windows paths.
Medicine
University of New Mexico MD Program
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Limited / assessment dependent
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Page is for the MD class of 2030 and notes limited tablet support for some assessments.
McGovern Medical School entering class of 2026
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- NBME secure testing
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Windows S mode ARM Windows and ASUS laptops are restricted in the published policy.
Tufts University School of Medicine
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Chrome Android and Linux operating systems are explicitly unsupported.
Mercer University School of Medicine
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The program says tablets are not supported by its testing package and selected products.
Physician Assistant
Butler University PA Program
Mobile computer required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The 2026-2027 page allows a Mac or PC laptop or a qualifying Windows dedicated tablet; iPads are not compatible with Butler’s ExamSoft setup.
Touro University California PA Los Angeles
Personal computer required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 256 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Secure testing platform
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Chromebook Android Linux virtual systems and iPads are not supported.
UC San Diego PA Program
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Supplement only
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Program-provided exam software
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The program describes tablets as optional adjuncts rather than laptop replacements.
MCPHS Accelerated MPAS
Laptop only required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify; PAEA Assessment Hub / Surpass
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Tablets iPads and Chromebooks cannot be used for program exams.
Pharmacy
University of Missouri-Kansas City PharmD
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 250 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Chromebooks and Android laptops do not meet the published specification.
Nova Southeastern University Silverman College of Pharmacy
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The handbook requires a PC or Mac laptop compatible with the college testing platform.
ETSU Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy
Laptop required plus mobile device- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Supplement recommended
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 256 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
An Apple or Windows laptop is required; an iPad is strongly recommended as the additional mobile device.
University of Louisiana Monroe College of Pharmacy
Laptop or approved replacement required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Allowed
- Published minimum RAM
- 16 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 256 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Surface Pro and iPad qualify as replacements; Chromebook does not.
Dental
University of Florida College of Dentistry
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 256 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Canvas LockDown Browser; ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The policy requires a laptop rather than an iPad or iPad hybrid and requires a privacy screen for examinations.
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry
iPad or laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Allowed
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Android tablets are not supported; the college recommends an iPad while allowing a laptop.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
Laptop required- Windows
- Not stated
- macOS
- Not stated
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Supplement only
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Clinical software / Citrix
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The college says a laptop should be no more than four years old and that an iPad should not be the primary device because it is incompatible with the Citrix client.
Roseman University College of Dental Medicine
Laptop access required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The 2026-2027 technology page places the DMD program in the BYOD model and warns that OS requirements change with Examplify support.
Law
University of Minnesota Law School
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 100 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Chromebook Android Linux and virtual-machine paths are explicitly blocked.
New York University School of Law
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Exam software
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
All JD and Graduate Division students are required to have a laptop that meets the school’s exam requirements.
Boston University School of Law
Laptop used for in-person exams- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The published exam page and user guide provide PC and Mac requirements.
University of San Diego School of Law
Laptop used for exams- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The school says iPad Android and Linux devices are incompatible with its Examplify exam path.
Veterinary
University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The DVM policy requires a laptop with privacy screen webcam and microphone.
NC State College of Veterinary Medicine
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Secure testing software
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
All DVM students must maintain a personal laptop meeting the published specifications.
Clemson University College of Veterinary Medicine
Laptop and privacy screen required- Windows
- Not stated
- macOS
- Not stated
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The new DVM program publishes student technology specifications and requires every student to maintain a personal laptop and privacy screen.
Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine
Personal device required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Allowed
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 4 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The policy supports listed iPadOS versions and blocks Chromebook Android and Linux systems.
Radiologic Technology
Pennsylvania College of Technology Radiography AAS
Laptop required- Windows
- Required / preferred
- macOS
- Restricted
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 16 GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The program page publishes notebook requirements and cautions against Mac Chromebook and ARM paths.
Southeastern Technical College Radiologic Technology AAS
Laptop required- Windows
- Not stated
- macOS
- Not stated
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Trajecsys
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The official catalog includes program technology and laptop-related requirements and costs.
Mitchell Technical College Radiologic Technology
BYOD laptop required- Windows
- Required
- macOS
- Blocked
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- 4 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 64 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The program explicitly says no Apple or Mac computers.
University of Minnesota Rochester Health Professions Radiography
Program-issued laptop- Windows
- Issued
- macOS
- Issued
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Radiography-track students receive a laptop; the page says ChromeOS devices and tablets do not meet the university minimums.
Sonography
Southeast Technical College Diagnostic Medical Sonography
BYOL laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 8 GB
- Published minimum storage
- 25 GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The DMS program is listed as BYOL; Chromebooks Android devices iPads and mobile-OS tablets are unsupported.
Allen College Diagnostic Cardiac and Medical Sonography
Laptop required- Windows
- Not stated
- macOS
- Not stated
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The program requires a laptop webcam microphone headphones Office browser and PDF reader.
University of Minnesota Rochester Health Professions Sonography and Echocardiography
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Blocked
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The official page explicitly maps the laptop requirement to the sonography and echocardiography tracks.
New Mexico Academy School of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Frequent computer access required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Not stated
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The policy requires frequent access to a desktop or laptop and publishes hardware and OS minimums.
Physical Therapy
Baylor University DPT Program
Laptop and mobile device required- Windows
- Not stated
- macOS
- Not stated
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Supplement / mobile device required
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Not named
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
Students must have both a laptop and a mobile device capable of supporting program resources.
Pacific Northwest University DPT Program
Laptop required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Blocked
- Published minimum RAM
- 16 GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft / Examplify
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The DPT-linked policy requires a laptop for coursework and exams and recommends 16GB RAM; mobile tablets are not substitutes for the required computer.
East Tennessee State University DPT Program
Laptop or appropriate tablet access required- Windows
- Allowed
- macOS
- Allowed
- Chromebook
- Not stated
- iPad / tablet
- Allowed
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- ExamSoft
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
The handbook describes ongoing use of a current laptop or tablet and points to ExamSoft guidelines.
West Virginia University DPT Program
Program computer participation required- Windows
- Issued
- macOS
- Issued
- Chromebook
- Not applicable
- iPad / tablet
- Not applicable
- Published minimum RAM
- GB
- Published minimum storage
- GB
- Named exam / clinical platform
- Program-managed testing and software
Official program source ↗Checked 2026-07-13
All DPT students participate in the Health Sciences Center Student Computer Program.
Download the 40-program dataset
Both files are generated from one frozen 40-record source and contain the same 14 fields. Keep row_id, policy_url, and checked_date when reusing a record.
View the 14-field data dictionary
row_idintegerStable record identifier from 1 through 40.
professionstringProfessional education field used for the four-program quota.
institution_programstringInstitution and program represented by the official policy.
device_requirementstringTPTK coding of the policy's primary device requirement.
windows_statusstringPublished Windows allowance or restriction.
mac_statusstringPublished macOS allowance or restriction.
chromebook_statusstringPublished Chromebook treatment; Not stated is not permission.
ipad_statusstringPublished iPad or tablet treatment, including limited or supplemental roles.
min_ram_gbinteger or nullNumeric minimum RAM in GB when the official source published one.
min_storage_gbinteger or nullNumeric minimum storage in GB when the official source published one.
exam_platformstringAssessment platform named by the official source, or Not named.
policy_urlURLDirect official source used for the row.
checked_datedateDate the source was checked, in YYYY-MM-DD format.
notesstringConcise source-specific coding context or limitation.
Verify SHA-256 checksums
CSV: 8ab3bd9ce7be62edbf1304d446c165ac33704c1291305043c091103608c1c56a
JSON: fb37f8085986f8bd7376c944681cf004b2cd299c78df4651bfd1e76530533238
View dataset changelog
- 1.1.0 · 2026-07-15: added public CSV/JSON distributions, checksums, a data dictionary, and synchronized Dataset metadata. No record values changed.
- 1.0.0 · 2026-07-13: initial 40-record benchmark release.
Show the full CSV dataset on this page
Methodology and coding rules
Research date: July 13, 2026. Sample: 40 U.S. programs, using a purposive quota of four programs in each of 10 fields: nursing, medicine, physician assistant, pharmacy, dental, law, veterinary medicine, radiologic technology, sonography, and physical therapy.
- Inclusion: a public page or PDF controlled by the institution, school, department, or program that stated a device, operating-system, specification, assessment-software, or related technology rule.
- Primary-source rule: vendor pages, retailer pages, forums, and third-party summaries were excluded from row coding. All 39 unique official URLs returned HTTP 200 during production QA; one University of Mississippi Medical Center source covers two distinct program tracks.
- Conservative coding: “Not stated” was used when the reviewed source did not explicitly publish the field. We did not infer Chromebook, iPad, RAM, storage, or software compatibility from another field.
- Status definitions: “Allowed” means the source affirmatively permitted the device or operating system; “Blocked” means it explicitly prohibited or declared it incompatible; “Supplement” or “limited” means the source allowed a secondary role but did not clearly approve it as the sole primary computer.
- Exam-platform coding: a product name appears only when the official source named it. “Not named” does not prove that the program uses no secure assessment software.
- Limitations: this is not a random sample, national estimate, price survey, or guarantee for a future cohort. Policies can change after orientation, by campus, or by course.
Corrections: if an official source changed or a row needs clarification, email hello@theprotoolkit.com with the row number and current official URL. The dataset will be corrected transparently and the modified date updated.
Reuse: the original coding and dataset are available under CC BY 4.0 with attribution. Official source pages remain the property of their publishers.
How to cite this benchmark
Suggested citation:
TheProToolKit. (2026, July 13). “College Laptop Requirements by Program: 40-Program Benchmark (2026).” https://theprotoolkit.com/college-laptop-requirements-by-program-2026/#cite
For a direct quote, include the sample context: 40 purposively selected programs, four per profession, based on public official policies checked July 13, 2026.
From policy research to a safe device shortlist
The benchmark answers the policy question; TPTK’s profession guides handle the purchase question. Start with the professional technology hub, check the Examplify-compatible laptop guide when secure exams matter, or continue to a profession-specific guide for medical students, law students, PA students, pharmacy students, dental students, or veterinary students.
Frequently asked questions
Do college programs allow Chromebooks?
Not reliably. In this 40-program purposive sample, no reviewed policy explicitly approved a Chromebook as the primary device, 16 explicitly blocked it, 23 did not state a Chromebook rule, and one issued-device program was coded not applicable. Students should verify their own program before buying.
Can an iPad replace a laptop in a professional program?
Sometimes, but the rules were split. Thirteen reviewed policies blocked an iPad or tablet as the primary device, while 11 explicitly allowed it or described a supplemental or limited role. A tablet-only plan is unsafe without written program approval.
How many programs named ExamSoft or Examplify?
Twenty-one of the 40 reviewed program policies named ExamSoft or Examplify. That does not mean the other 19 programs do not use exam software; it means those names were not present in the public policy source coded for this benchmark.
Is this benchmark a representative survey of all colleges?
No. It is a purposive, quota-balanced benchmark of four programs in each of 10 professions. It is designed to compare public policy patterns and disclosure quality, not estimate a national prevalence rate.