Nursing Program Laptop Requirements: a 35-Program Survey (2026)


Original data checked July 8, 2026
Nursing Program Laptop Requirements: a 35-Program Survey (2026)

Most nursing laptop advice skips the source that matters: the school requirement page. We checked 35 published nursing program technology pages, IT articles, and student handbooks to record whether a laptop is required, which operating systems are accepted, what minimum specs appear, which exam software is named, and whether iPads or Chromebooks can stand in for the main device.

35program requirement pages checked
31explicitly block or downgrade Chromebooks as primary devices
29name ExamSoft, Examplify, or ExamSoft minimum requirements
1Windows-only source in the survey

Quick citation

Citable finding: In a July 8, 2026 check by The Pro Tool Kit, 31 of 35 reviewed nursing program technology pages explicitly blocked, rejected, or downgraded Chromebooks as a primary nursing-school device, while 29 of 35 named ExamSoft, Examplify, or ExamSoft minimum requirements.

Suggested attribution: Source: The Pro Tool Kit, Nursing Program Laptop Requirements: a 35-Program Survey (2026).

Contact for corrections or updates: hello@theprotoolkit.com

Key findings

  • Windows or Mac is the safe default. Thirty-four of the 35 sources supported or directed students toward Windows and/or macOS laptops. The Windows-only or college-issued-Windows sources in this survey were UT Tyler School of Nursing and Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing.
  • Chromebooks remain the clearest trap. Thirty-one sources explicitly said Chromebooks, ChromeOS, or Chromebook-like devices do not meet requirements, are not compatible, or should not be primary devices.
  • iPads are usually supplemental. A few sources allow iPads in specific Examplify contexts, but most treat tablets as note-taking or classwork devices rather than full laptop replacements for nursing exams.
  • ExamSoft/Examplify is the dominant named exam platform. Twenty-nine sources named ExamSoft, Examplify, or official ExamSoft requirements. ATI, HESI, Respondus, Honorlock, ProctorU, Proctorio-style online proctoring, or LMS requirements often appear beside it.

35-program nursing laptop requirement survey

We recorded the clearest published rule from each source. “Laptop required” means the source explicitly says students must have a laptop, must have access to a laptop/device for testing, or must meet a laptop/computer requirement for the nursing program. “Specs” are summarized from the source and should be treated as a snapshot, because ExamSoft and school IT requirements can change during an academic year.

Program source Laptop required? OS rules Minimum specs noted Exam software named iPad / Chromebook rule
Catholic University Conway School of NursingYesWindows laptop or MacBook; Windows 10+; Windows RT/S not supported.4GB RAM minimum; 8GB preferred; 4GB SSD minimum listed, 512GB SSD recommended.ExamSoft / ExamplifyiPads and Chromebooks not approved
University of Florida College of NursingYesMac OS or Windows laptop; note says ExamSoft is dropping older OS support and Windows 11 is the supported PC OS after Oct. 15.Webcam, microphone, high-speed internet; encryption and antivirus requirements.ExamSoft, HESI, Honorlock, ProctorU by programMay be used for some courses, but not minimum standard
Northwest University Buntain School of NursingYesModern Windows or Mac OS X computer that meets Examplify requirements.Defers to Examplify minimum system requirements.ExamSoft / ExamplifyChrome, Android, and Linux not supported
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of NursingExam device requiredThree most recent macOS versions; standard Windows OS only, not S mode.Internet for exam download/upload; device compatible with Examplify and ATI.ExamSoft / Examplify, ATIiPad supported by ExamSoft in recent iOS versions; no Chromebook; tablets other than Surface Pro not supported
Baylor University Louise Herrington School of NursingPersonal laptop for examsDefers to Examplify minimum system requirements.Must run Examplify for offline secure exams.ExamSoft / ExamplifyNot specified on page; follow Examplify requirements
University of South Dakota NursingYesMicrosoft Windows or Apple macOS environment.Examplify minimum hardware specs.ExamSoft / ExamplifyExamplify is not compatible with Chromebooks
Drexel University College of Nursing and Health ProfessionsPersonal computer requiredWindows or macOS laptop for CNHP programs; avoid Windows S.CNHP-specific hardware guidelines referenced.Not named in visible summaryTablets, Chromebooks, and phones are supplemental, not primary laptops
University of Maryland School of NursingYes, except fully online programsWindows 11 24H2 or later; Windows S not allowed.Webcam, microphone, browsers, Office 365, security software.Examplify mentioned for examinationsSchool notes it does not support iPads for exams
Rutgers School of Nursing-CamdenYesWindows or Apple operating system; excludes old macOS and Windows 11 22H2 or earlier.Wireless, healthy device, free of malware; vendor requirements for Examplify and ATI.Examplify, ATIApple iDevices, Chromebooks, Linux, non-Pro Surface, unsupported tablets, Snapdragon chipsets not supported
Kirkwood Community College NursingYesWindows or MacBook works; Windows capability listed.Non-ARM/mobile processor, 4+ hour battery, 8GB+ RAM, 256GB+ storage, webcam, mic, headphones.Examplify / ExamSoft, ATIMacBooks work; iPads and Chromebooks will not work
Duquesne University School of NursingYesMac or Windows required; Windows 11; macOS Sequoia or later.Windows: i5/Ryzen 3 or higher, 8GB RAM minimum, 256GB SSD, webcam/mic. Mac: Apple Silicon recommended.Not named on requirement pageiPad optional supplement; Chromebooks not compatible
University of Virginia School of NursingYesMacBook, traditional Windows laptop, or Microsoft Surface with keyboard.Must support school software applications; keyboard required for Surface-style devices.Not named in visible policy excerptTablets such as iPads and Chromebooks do not meet requirement
Walla Walla Community College NursingYesWindows 11+ or updated macOS.2GHz dual-core Intel/AMD CPU; 4GB+ RAM recommended; broadband; no touchscreen input for Examplify.ATI, ExamSoft / ExamplifyChromebooks, Android, Linux, and tablets including iPads are not sufficient
Moraine Park Technical College Nursing ProgramDevice must support required softwareWindows 10/11 22H2/23H2, macOS Monterey/Ventura/Sonoma, or supported iPadOS versions.4GB usable RAM; 4GB available storage; 25 Mbps minimum download; 1280 x 768 screen.Examplify implied through compatibility listSome iPads supported; Chromebooks, Android, Linux, ARM Windows, and touchscreen laptops excluded
Neumann University BSNYesMac and Windows supported when they meet Examplify requirements.Windows 10/11; non-ARM CPU; 4GB usable RAM; 256GB hard drive recommended; USB port.Examplify and other testing systemsExamplify will not run on iPad, Chromebook, Android, or Linux at Neumann
WVU School of Nursing: Potomac State CampusYesWindows 11 or macOS 15+.Intel Core i5/Ultra 5 or AMD equivalent; 8GB RAM; 1920 x 1080 screen; Ethernet listed.LMS compatibility emphasizediPad, Surface, Kindle, and small tablets do not meet requirements; regular-size laptop required
Messiah University NursingWindows or Mac for testingWindows or Mac for Examplify; general recommendation Windows 11 or macOS 12+.General recommendation includes i5/i7 or Ryzen 5/7 and 8GB RAM.ExamplifyDoes not use iPads; Examplify will not run on Chromebook, Android, or Linux
University of Louisville School of NursingYesWindows 11; macOS 14.7.5 minimum, 15.4.1 recommended.13-inch laptop minimum; i3/Ryzen 3 minimum; 8GB RAM; 128GB SSD; webcam/mic; Wi-Fi.Online testing software referencedAvoid Chromebooks/ChromeOS and mobile OS devices; iPads may work for classwork but not all online testing
Baptist Health College Little Rock Nursing / Practical NursingRequired if using ExamSoft testingWindows 11 24H2/25H2; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia/Tahoe with Ventura support caveat.8GB RAM; 200GB hard drive; webcam/mic; 4-hour battery; external laptop power bank required.ExamSoftChromebooks will not work with ExamSoft testing
Springfield Technical Community College NursingRecommended Basic Windows or MacWindows 11 for basic Windows; Mac OS 10.8+ listed for basic Mac.Basic Windows/Mac: i5/Ryzen-style CPU, 8GB RAM, webcam/mic, 256GB SSD.Examplify; SkyscapeChromebooks and tablets not compatible with testing software
Samford University health sciences / nursing requirementsLaptop recommended/required for ExamSoft pathMac or PC; Windows S mode not compatible with ExamSoft.240GB hard drive or larger; built-in webcam and microphone; virtual cameras not supported.ExamSoftDo not purchase Chromebook, Android, or Linux as main device
Finger Lakes Community College NursingYes, for ExamplifyWindows 10/11 with certified versions; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia.4GB usable RAM; 4GB available space; 1280 x 768 screen; 2.5 Mbps upload for proctoring.Examplify, ATIChromebook, Android, and Linux blocked; no touchscreen input
Faulkner University Upper Division BSNExamplify device requiredWindows 10/11; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia.Non-ARM CPU; 4GB usable RAM; 4GB available storage; 1280 x 768 screen.ExamplifyNo Chromebook or Linux; iPad may be used
UT Tyler School of NursingComputer required for testingWindows 10 or later required; no Mac OS devices.Intel Core i5; 16GB RAM recommended; 250GB NVMe M.2; 1366 x 768+ screen; webcam/mic.Examplify and/or ProctorUNo tablets, Mac OS devices, or Chromebooks
Wilkes University Undergraduate NursingExam device requiredExamplify supports Mac, Windows, and iPad operating systems.Student must keep ExamSoft updated and device charged.ExamSoft / ExamplifyiPad supported; Chromebook, Android, and Linux not supported
Case Western Reserve University Frances Payne Bolton School of NursingYesWindows 10 (not Home edition) or newer; macOS 10.12 or newer.6th gen Core i5/i7; 8GB RAM or more; 256GB minimum drive or 512GB+ HD; 1024 x 768+ screen; 802.11ac wireless; camera; 4-hour battery.ExamSoft; HonorlockiPad, Chromebook, and other tablets not compatible; Chromebooks noted as not working for School of Nursing coursework.
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth College of Nursing and Health SciencesYes for secured activities/examsApple laptop OS 10.x with specific exam-software confirmation; Windows laptop 32-bit/64-bit Windows 10 with exam-software confirmation.Apple/Windows specs list Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB hard drive; privacy screen mandatory for secured activities.ExamSoft; ATIExamSoft links include iPad requirements; Chromebooks are not supported.
Vanderbilt University School of NursingYesWindows 10 or macOS 13 or newer required; Windows 10S not supported.High-speed internet; webcam; headphones with microphone; Chrome and Firefox; Office 365. Page lists VUSN lab computer as i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB HDD, Windows 10 Enterprise.Remote ProctorAndroid tablet, iPad, or Chromebook not supported as primary computer; program and testing software require a laptop.
St. Joseph's College of NursingYes64-bit Windows 10 or 11; macOS 13 or higher.High-speed internet; 8GB RAM; 100GB hard drive; Chrome or Edge; webcam and microphone; Office/Office 365.ExamplifyAndroids, iPads, and Chromebooks will not run Examplify; Chromebooks not compatible with testing software; Surface Pro approved but Surface Book detachable keyboard not compatible.
Bon Secours Memorial College of NursingCollege-issued laptop requiredCollege-issued device runs Windows 11.College-issued Dell Business Class Pro line, 14-inch, Intel Core 5 CPU, 512GB storage, 16GB RAM, Wi-Fi/Bluetooth, camera and microphone with privacy shutter; high-speed internet 5 Mbps minimum, 25 Mbps recommended.Examplify; ATI Nursing Educationnot stated
Oregon Health & Science University School of NursingYesWindows 10 22H2, Windows 11 22H2, and Windows 11 23H2 recommended/supported by ExamSoft; macOS 13 Ventura, 14 Sonoma, and 15 Sequoia recommended/supported by ExamSoft.Laptop with four-hour battery; Microsoft Office required; DUO Mobile and Microsoft 365 environment noted.ExamSoftNetbooks and Chromebooks are not acceptable alternatives; tablets and mobile devices including iPad and Android are not acceptable alternatives to laptop requirement.
University of South Alabama College of NursingYesWindows 11 or newer; macOS 13 Ventura or newer. Windows 10/8/8.1, Windows RT, Windows S, Android, Chrome, Linux, Apple iOS, and bootstrapped Windows on OSX are not acceptable.Wi-Fi; 8GB RAM; 250GB+ drive; supported Intel i3/i5/i7 or Ultra 3/5/7 or Apple M1-M4; 11-15 inch screen; webcam.ExamSoftiPads and other tablets running mobile operating systems not allowed for exam taking; Chrome OS not acceptable.
College of Staten Island CUNY AAS Nursing ProgramYesMost modern Mac and Windows computers supported by Examplify.Dedicated working laptop that supports ExamSoft; students directed to Examplify minimum system requirements.ExamSoft / ExamplifyChromebooks not supported; Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux; touchscreen input not supported on Mac or Windows laptops.
Rochester General College of Health Careers NursingYesWindows 10/11 64-bit, with Windows 10 22H2, Windows 11 22H2, and Windows 11 23H2 certified; macOS Ventura, Sonoma, or Sequoia.Windows: laptop less than 3 years old, non-ARM CPU, 8GB RAM, 250GB+ space, USB port, internet, 1280 x 768 screen. Mac: Intel or M-series CPU, 4GB RAM, 4GB+ available space, administrator permissions.ExamplifyExamplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux; no Chromebook or Surface; no netbook or tablet; Chromebooks and tablets minus iPads not supported for RGCOHC applications.
Saint Louis University Trudy Busch Valentine School of NursingYesWindows or Mac device; must meet ExamSoft and ATI minimum system requirements.Administrator-level rights; working USB port or adapter; supported updated browser; Ethernet port or adapter; Ethernet cable; ExamID and ExamMonitor requirements when used.ExamSoft / Examplify; ATIChromebooks not supported; iPads can be used for some activities, but a computer is required for most testing purposes.

This is a requirements survey, not buying advice. For model-level recommendations, see the TPTK nursing student laptop guide and budget nursing laptop guide. For device-rule decisions, see Chromebooks in nursing school, iPad vs laptop for nursing school, the nursing school device checklist, and the Examplify-compatible laptop hub.

Copyable data

Researchers, advisors, bloggers, and nursing program staff can copy the CSV-style data below for notes or citations. Please cite and link to this report if you republish the findings.

Program,Laptop required,OS rules,Minimum specs summarized,Exam software named,iPad/Chromebook rule,Source checked
Catholic University Conway School of Nursing,Yes,Windows laptop or MacBook; Windows 10+; Windows RT/S not supported.,"4GB RAM minimum; 8GB preferred; 4GB SSD minimum listed, 512GB SSD recommended.",ExamSoft / Examplify,iPads and Chromebooks not approved,2026-07-08
University of Florida College of Nursing,Yes,Mac OS or Windows laptop; note says ExamSoft is dropping older OS support and Windows 11 is the supported PC OS after Oct. 15.,"Webcam, microphone, high-speed internet; encryption and antivirus requirements.","ExamSoft, HESI, Honorlock, ProctorU by program","May be used for some courses, but not minimum standard",2026-07-08
Northwest University Buntain School of Nursing,Yes,Modern Windows or Mac OS X computer that meets Examplify requirements.,Defers to Examplify minimum system requirements.,ExamSoft / Examplify,"Chrome, Android, and Linux not supported",2026-07-08
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing,Exam device required,"Three most recent macOS versions; standard Windows OS only, not S mode.",Internet for exam download/upload; device compatible with Examplify and ATI.,"ExamSoft / Examplify, ATI",iPad supported by ExamSoft in recent iOS versions; no Chromebook; tablets other than Surface Pro not supported,2026-07-08
Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing,Personal laptop for exams,Defers to Examplify minimum system requirements.,Must run Examplify for offline secure exams.,ExamSoft / Examplify,Not specified on page; follow Examplify requirements,2026-07-08
University of South Dakota Nursing,Yes,Microsoft Windows or Apple macOS environment.,Examplify minimum hardware specs.,ExamSoft / Examplify,Examplify is not compatible with Chromebooks,2026-07-08
Drexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions,Personal computer required,Windows or macOS laptop for CNHP programs; avoid Windows S.,CNHP-specific hardware guidelines referenced.,Not named in visible summary,"Tablets, Chromebooks, and phones are supplemental, not primary laptops",2026-07-08
University of Maryland School of Nursing,"Yes, except fully online programs",Windows 11 24H2 or later; Windows S not allowed.,"Webcam, microphone, browsers, Office 365, security software.",Examplify mentioned for examinations,School notes it does not support iPads for exams,2026-07-08
Rutgers School of Nursing-Camden,Yes,Windows or Apple operating system; excludes old macOS and Windows 11 22H2 or earlier.,"Wireless, healthy device, free of malware; vendor requirements for Examplify and ATI.","Examplify, ATI","Apple iDevices, Chromebooks, Linux, non-Pro Surface, unsupported tablets, Snapdragon chipsets not supported",2026-07-08
Kirkwood Community College Nursing,Yes,Windows or MacBook works; Windows capability listed.,"Non-ARM/mobile processor, 4+ hour battery, 8GB+ RAM, 256GB+ storage, webcam, mic, headphones.","Examplify / ExamSoft, ATI",MacBooks work; iPads and Chromebooks will not work,2026-07-08
Duquesne University School of Nursing,Yes,Mac or Windows required; Windows 11; macOS Sequoia or later.,"Windows: i5/Ryzen 3 or higher, 8GB RAM minimum, 256GB SSD, webcam/mic. Mac: Apple Silicon recommended.",Not named on requirement page,iPad optional supplement; Chromebooks not compatible,2026-07-08
University of Virginia School of Nursing,Yes,"MacBook, traditional Windows laptop, or Microsoft Surface with keyboard.",Must support school software applications; keyboard required for Surface-style devices.,Not named in visible policy excerpt,Tablets such as iPads and Chromebooks do not meet requirement,2026-07-08
Walla Walla Community College Nursing,Yes,Windows 11+ or updated macOS.,2GHz dual-core Intel/AMD CPU; 4GB+ RAM recommended; broadband; no touchscreen input for Examplify.,"ATI, ExamSoft / Examplify","Chromebooks, Android, Linux, and tablets including iPads are not sufficient",2026-07-08
Moraine Park Technical College Nursing Program,Device must support required software,"Windows 10/11 22H2/23H2, macOS Monterey/Ventura/Sonoma, or supported iPadOS versions.",4GB usable RAM; 4GB available storage; 25 Mbps minimum download; 1280 x 768 screen.,Examplify implied through compatibility list,"Some iPads supported; Chromebooks, Android, Linux, ARM Windows, and touchscreen laptops excluded",2026-07-08
Neumann University BSN,Yes,Mac and Windows supported when they meet Examplify requirements.,Windows 10/11; non-ARM CPU; 4GB usable RAM; 256GB hard drive recommended; USB port.,Examplify and other testing systems,"Examplify will not run on iPad, Chromebook, Android, or Linux at Neumann",2026-07-08
WVU School of Nursing: Potomac State Campus,Yes,Windows 11 or macOS 15+.,Intel Core i5/Ultra 5 or AMD equivalent; 8GB RAM; 1920 x 1080 screen; Ethernet listed.,LMS compatibility emphasized,"iPad, Surface, Kindle, and small tablets do not meet requirements; regular-size laptop required",2026-07-08
Messiah University Nursing,Windows or Mac for testing,Windows or Mac for Examplify; general recommendation Windows 11 or macOS 12+.,General recommendation includes i5/i7 or Ryzen 5/7 and 8GB RAM.,Examplify,"Does not use iPads; Examplify will not run on Chromebook, Android, or Linux",2026-07-08
University of Louisville School of Nursing,Yes,"Windows 11; macOS 14.7.5 minimum, 15.4.1 recommended.",13-inch laptop minimum; i3/Ryzen 3 minimum; 8GB RAM; 128GB SSD; webcam/mic; Wi-Fi.,Online testing software referenced,Avoid Chromebooks/ChromeOS and mobile OS devices; iPads may work for classwork but not all online testing,2026-07-08
Baptist Health College Little Rock Nursing / Practical Nursing,Required if using ExamSoft testing,Windows 11 24H2/25H2; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia/Tahoe with Ventura support caveat.,8GB RAM; 200GB hard drive; webcam/mic; 4-hour battery; external laptop power bank required.,ExamSoft,Chromebooks will not work with ExamSoft testing,2026-07-08
Springfield Technical Community College Nursing,Recommended Basic Windows or Mac,Windows 11 for basic Windows; Mac OS 10.8+ listed for basic Mac.,"Basic Windows/Mac: i5/Ryzen-style CPU, 8GB RAM, webcam/mic, 256GB SSD.",Examplify; Skyscape,Chromebooks and tablets not compatible with testing software,2026-07-08
Samford University health sciences / nursing requirements,Laptop recommended/required for ExamSoft path,Mac or PC; Windows S mode not compatible with ExamSoft.,240GB hard drive or larger; built-in webcam and microphone; virtual cameras not supported.,ExamSoft,"Do not purchase Chromebook, Android, or Linux as main device",2026-07-08
Finger Lakes Community College Nursing,"Yes, for Examplify",Windows 10/11 with certified versions; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia.,4GB usable RAM; 4GB available space; 1280 x 768 screen; 2.5 Mbps upload for proctoring.,"Examplify, ATI","Chromebook, Android, and Linux blocked; no touchscreen input",2026-07-08
Faulkner University Upper Division BSN,Examplify device required,Windows 10/11; macOS Ventura/Sonoma/Sequoia.,Non-ARM CPU; 4GB usable RAM; 4GB available storage; 1280 x 768 screen.,Examplify,No Chromebook or Linux; iPad may be used,2026-07-08
UT Tyler School of Nursing,Computer required for testing,Windows 10 or later required; no Mac OS devices.,Intel Core i5; 16GB RAM recommended; 250GB NVMe M.2; 1366 x 768+ screen; webcam/mic.,Examplify and/or ProctorU,"No tablets, Mac OS devices, or Chromebooks",2026-07-08
Wilkes University Undergraduate Nursing,Exam device required,"Examplify supports Mac, Windows, and iPad operating systems.",Student must keep ExamSoft updated and device charged.,ExamSoft / Examplify,"iPad supported; Chromebook, Android, and Linux not supported",2026-07-08
Case Western Reserve University Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing,Yes,Windows 10 (not Home edition) or newer; macOS 10.12 or newer.,6th gen Core i5/i7; 8GB RAM or more; 256GB minimum drive or 512GB+ HD; 1024 x 768+ screen; 802.11ac wireless; camera; 4-hour battery.,ExamSoft; Honorlock,"iPad, Chromebook, and other tablets not compatible; Chromebooks noted as not working for School of Nursing coursework.",2026-07-08
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth College of Nursing and Health Sciences,Yes for secured activities/exams,Apple laptop OS 10.x with specific exam-software confirmation; Windows laptop 32-bit/64-bit Windows 10 with exam-software confirmation.,"Apple/Windows specs list Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB hard drive; privacy screen mandatory for secured activities.",ExamSoft; ATI,ExamSoft links include iPad requirements; Chromebooks are not supported.,2026-07-08
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing,Yes,Windows 10 or macOS 13 or newer required; Windows 10S not supported.,"High-speed internet; webcam; headphones with microphone; Chrome and Firefox; Office 365. Page lists VUSN lab computer as i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB HDD, Windows 10 Enterprise.",Remote Proctor,"Android tablet, iPad, or Chromebook not supported as primary computer; program and testing software require a laptop.",2026-07-08
St. Joseph's College of Nursing,Yes,64-bit Windows 10 or 11; macOS 13 or higher.,High-speed internet; 8GB RAM; 100GB hard drive; Chrome or Edge; webcam and microphone; Office/Office 365.,Examplify,"Androids, iPads, and Chromebooks will not run Examplify; Chromebooks not compatible with testing software; Surface Pro approved but Surface Book detachable keyboard not compatible.",2026-07-08
Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing,College-issued laptop required,College-issued device runs Windows 11.,"College-issued Dell Business Class Pro line, 14-inch, Intel Core 5 CPU, 512GB storage, 16GB RAM, Wi-Fi/Bluetooth, camera and microphone with privacy shutter; high-speed internet 5 Mbps minimum, 25 Mbps recommended.",Examplify; ATI Nursing Education,not stated,2026-07-08
Oregon Health & Science University School of Nursing,Yes,"Windows 10 22H2, Windows 11 22H2, and Windows 11 23H2 recommended/supported by ExamSoft; macOS 13 Ventura, 14 Sonoma, and 15 Sequoia recommended/supported by ExamSoft.",Laptop with four-hour battery; Microsoft Office required; DUO Mobile and Microsoft 365 environment noted.,ExamSoft,Netbooks and Chromebooks are not acceptable alternatives; tablets and mobile devices including iPad and Android are not acceptable alternatives to laptop requirement.,2026-07-08
University of South Alabama College of Nursing,Yes,"Windows 11 or newer; macOS 13 Ventura or newer. Windows 10/8/8.1, Windows RT, Windows S, Android, Chrome, Linux, Apple iOS, and bootstrapped Windows on OSX are not acceptable.",Wi-Fi; 8GB RAM; 250GB+ drive; supported Intel i3/i5/i7 or Ultra 3/5/7 or Apple M1-M4; 11-15 inch screen; webcam.,ExamSoft,iPads and other tablets running mobile operating systems not allowed for exam taking; Chrome OS not acceptable.,2026-07-08
College of Staten Island CUNY AAS Nursing Program,Yes,Most modern Mac and Windows computers supported by Examplify.,Dedicated working laptop that supports ExamSoft; students directed to Examplify minimum system requirements.,ExamSoft / Examplify,"Chromebooks not supported; Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux; touchscreen input not supported on Mac or Windows laptops.",2026-07-08
Rochester General College of Health Careers Nursing,Yes,"Windows 10/11 64-bit, with Windows 10 22H2, Windows 11 22H2, and Windows 11 23H2 certified; macOS Ventura, Sonoma, or Sequoia.","Windows: laptop less than 3 years old, non-ARM CPU, 8GB RAM, 250GB+ space, USB port, internet, 1280 x 768 screen. Mac: Intel or M-series CPU, 4GB RAM, 4GB+ available space, administrator permissions.",Examplify,"Examplify will not run on Chromebooks, Android, or Linux; no Chromebook or Surface; no netbook or tablet; Chromebooks and tablets minus iPads not supported for RGCOHC applications.",2026-07-08
Saint Louis University Trudy Busch Valentine School of Nursing,Yes,Windows or Mac device; must meet ExamSoft and ATI minimum system requirements.,Administrator-level rights; working USB port or adapter; supported updated browser; Ethernet port or adapter; Ethernet cable; ExamID and ExamMonitor requirements when used.,ExamSoft / Examplify; ATI,"Chromebooks not supported; iPads can be used for some activities, but a computer is required for most testing purposes.",2026-07-08

What this means before a nursing student buys

Buy for exams first

Notes, e-books, Canvas, and videos are flexible. Secure exams are not. The safest primary purchase is still a Windows or Mac laptop that can pass the school’s mock exam before the return window closes.

Treat Chromebooks as risky

Many schools use the same blunt language: Chromebooks will not work, are not approved, or do not meet the minimum laptop requirement. A browser-only device can still fail the exam-software rule.

Use iPads as supplements

iPads can be excellent for notes, PDFs, e-books, drug references, and classwork. In this survey, they were usually not framed as the safest one-device replacement for nursing exams.

Methodology

We searched for published nursing program laptop, computer, technology, and exam-software requirement pages, then recorded only facts visible in official school pages, program IT pages, bookstore technology pages, or official student handbooks. Sources were checked on July 8, 2026. We treated a source as “Chromebook blocked or downgraded” when it said Chromebooks, ChromeOS, or Chromebook-like devices do not work, are not compatible, are not approved, do not meet the requirement, should not be primary devices, or should be avoided for the nursing program.

We did not use third-party laptop rankings as data sources. We also did not infer support from generic campus IT pages unless the page named nursing or a nursing-school requirement. Program pages can change after publication, and individual cohorts may receive stricter instructions. If a school has changed its 2026 requirement page, send the link to hello@theprotoolkit.com.

Program sources checked

For broader exam-software context, see Exam Software by Program. For nursing-specific buying and device choices, see Best Laptops for Nursing Students, Best Budget Laptops for Nursing Students, Do You Need a Laptop for Nursing School?, Can You Use a Chromebook for Nursing School?, and iPad vs Laptop for Nursing School.

FAQ

Do nursing programs usually require a laptop?

Yes, most published nursing technology pages in this survey either require a laptop outright or require a device that can run the program’s secure exam software. The safest practical interpretation is to buy or bring a Windows or Mac laptop unless your specific program approves another device in writing.

Can a Chromebook be the only device for nursing school?

A Chromebook is a risky primary device for nursing school. In this survey, 31 of 35 sources explicitly blocked, rejected, or downgraded Chromebooks or ChromeOS devices for the nursing program, usually because of ExamSoft, Examplify, or other testing software limitations.

Are iPads allowed for nursing exams?

Sometimes, but not universally. A few sources allow iPads in specific Examplify or program contexts, while many describe iPads as supplements for e-books, classwork, clinical apps, or notes rather than full laptop replacements. Confirm the exact exam rule with your school.

What specs appeared most often in nursing laptop requirements?

The common pattern was a current Windows or macOS laptop, webcam and microphone, reliable internet, at least 8GB RAM where a full spec was listed, and enough storage for school and exam software. Some schools now specify Windows 11, current macOS versions, non-ARM processors, no S mode, or successful mock-exam completion.

Leave a Comment