Original official-source dataset · version 1.0.0 · accessed July 15, 2026
Compatibility boundaries come before component shopping
Direct answer: every application in this bounded 30-tool benchmark still uses a local desktop application or desktop client. Ten rows list only Windows or Windows Server in the desktop-platform field, while seven applications publish a recommended RAM value of 32 GB or more. The practical sequence is platform and architecture first, then the highest relevant official recommended memory and graphics requirement among the applications a team actually uses.
Five recognizable applications in each of six professional workflow families. This is a compatibility and requirements benchmark, not a universal workstation score or buyer guide.
What changes a device decision
- Minimum and recommended are materially different: 18 rows publish a numeric recommended RAM value above the numeric minimum. A minimum is not a performance promise.
- GPU evidence resists fake precision: 12 sources publish a minimum GPU statement and 15 publish a recommended statement, but those statements mix graphics APIs, VRAM, certified-driver lists, and workflow-specific guidance. The dataset preserves the vendor language.
- Missing values are evidence too: 27 rows expose a bounded minimum set and 23 expose a recommended set. Only eight publish a numeric recommended storage value. “Not stated” never means zero or unnecessary.
- Cloud does not automatically mean browser-only: collaboration, licensing, storage, or hosted services appear alongside local-client requirements throughout the sample.

All 30 applications with row-level official sources
Each responsive card keeps minimum and recommended values separate, names the delivery model, links the official vendor source, and records the source date when shown plus the common access date.
Design/CAD
Five current professional desktop applications
DC01 · Autodesk
AutoCAD
2026 including Specialized Toolsets
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit; macOS Ventura 13 through Tahoe 26
- Architecture
- Windows: 64-bit Intel/AMD; Mac: Intel 64-bit or Apple M series
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10/11 64-bit; macOS Ventura 13RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumWindows: 2.5-2.9 GHz, 8 logical cores; Mac: supported Intel 64-bit or Apple M seriesRecommendedWindows: 3+ GHz base, 4+ GHz turbo
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum10 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumWindows: 2 GB VRAM, 29 GB/s bandwidth, DirectX 11RecommendedWindows: 8 GB VRAM, 106 GB/s bandwidth, DirectX 12; dedicated VRAM advised
- Display
- MinimumWindows 1920×1080; Mac 1280×800RecommendedUp to 3840×2160 with recommended graphics; Mac 2880×1800 Retina
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is used for download, installation, and licensing; specialized toolsets are Windows-only.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Autodesk publishes separate basic and recommended Windows processor, RAM, GPU, display, and storage values plus a Mac platform table.
Normalization: The row uses the base AutoCAD values, not the higher additional requirements for large datasets, point clouds, 3D modeling, or individual specialized toolsets.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2025-10-02
Accessed 2026-07-15
DC02 · Autodesk
Revit
2026
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit; supported Parallels path on Intel and Apple silicon Macs
- Architecture
- Intel or AMD; Apple silicon supported only through the stated Parallels configuration
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 v1809 or later or Windows 11RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel or AMD 2 GHz or higher base clockRecommendedHighest single-core base clock speed; balanced and performance configurations vary
- RAM
- Minimum16 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum30 GBRecommended100 GB
- GPU
- MinimumDirectX 11, Shader Model 5, 24-bit colorRecommendedAt least 4 GB VRAM; 6 GB or more for Accelerated Graphics preview
- Display
- Minimum1280×1024 true colorRecommendedUltra-high 4K supported
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is required for license registration and prerequisite downloads; Desktop Connector 16.x or later is required for collaboration workflows.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Autodesk publishes entry, balanced, and performance tiers and a separate recommended Parallels configuration for Macs.
Normalization: Recommended RAM represents Autodesk's balanced configuration. The 100 GB storage value is recommended free space for temporary files, not installation size.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-03-18
Accessed 2026-07-15
DC03 · Dassault Systemes SOLIDWORKS
SOLIDWORKS
2026 client products
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 64-bit
- Architecture
- x86-64 Intel 64 or AMD64
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 64-bitRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimumx86-64 Intel 64 or AMD64RecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum16 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumCertified graphics card and driverRecommendedCertified graphics card and driver; GPU required for optimal virtualized performance
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Supported hypervisors are version-specific; Boot Camp on Apple hardware is not supported.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: The official matrix lists Windows 11, x86-64 architecture, 16 GB RAM with 32 GB recommended, certified graphics, and SSD guidance for SOLIDWORKS 2026.
Normalization: The vendor recommends SSD storage but does not publish a numeric base-client disk requirement on this page.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
DC04 · Robert McNeel & Associates
Rhino
8
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11; macOS Monterey 12.4 through Tahoe 26
- Architecture
- Windows: 64-bit Intel/AMD, not ARM; Mac: Intel or Apple processor
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10; macOS Monterey 12.4RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommended8 GB
- Storage
- Minimum5 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedOpenGL 4.5 capable graphics; at least 4 GB VRAM
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is used for download, license validation, support, and Cloud Zoo license management; Windows virtualization and ARM processors are not supported.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: McNeel publishes separate Windows and Mac requirements, including the Windows x86-64/no-ARM boundary and recommended OpenGL/VRAM values.
Normalization: Windows storage is 5 GB and Mac storage is 10 GB; the numeric field records the lower platform requirement and preserves the split here.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
DC05 · Trimble SketchUp
SketchUp for Desktop
2026
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11; macOS Sonoma 14 through Tahoe 26
- Architecture
- Windows: not separately stated; Mac: Intel or Apple M1/current generation
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11; macOS Sonoma 14RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedWindows 2+ GHz; Mac 2.1+ GHz or current-generation Apple M1
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommended8 GB
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommended6 GB
- GPU
- MinimumClassic renderer requires OpenGL 3.1; new Windows renderer requires DirectX 12 feature level 11.0; new Mac renderer requires Metal 2RecommendedWindows discrete GPU with 8 GB VRAM; Mac modern GPU with 1 GB memory
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is required to install and authorize the subscription; some features also require connectivity.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: SketchUp publishes supported desktop OS versions and recommended CPU, RAM, disk, and platform-specific graphics requirements.
Normalization: The current page labels these values as recommended and does not provide one complete minimum desktop set; its 32 GB VRAM note applies to specific PBR/AO/IBL model workflows and is not treated as the general recommendation.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-07-14
Accessed 2026-07-15
Engineering/GIS
Five current professional desktop applications
EG01 · Esri
ArcGIS Pro
3.7
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 64-bit; Windows Server 2019/2022/2025 64-bit
- Architecture
- x64
- Operating system
- MinimumSupported 64-bit Windows releaseRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum2 cores with simultaneous multithreadingRecommended4 cores; 10 cores optimal
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum32 GBRecommended32 GB
- GPU
- MinimumDirectX 11 feature level 11.0 / Shader Model 5.0 or OpenGL 4.3; CPU emulation possible without a physical GPURecommendedManufacturer-supported discrete GPU with 8 GB or more dedicated VRAM; DirectX 12 / Shader Model 6.0 or OpenGL 4.5
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Some licensing, portal, cloud storage, and web-layer workflows require network access; deep-learning tools have separate CUDA and VRAM requirements.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Esri publishes minimum, recommended, and optimal CPU, memory, storage, GPU/API, and VRAM tiers for ArcGIS Pro 3.7.
Normalization: The recommended storage figure is 32 GB or more on SSD. A visualization cache can consume another 32 GB; deep-learning GPU requirements are feature-specific and remain in the note.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
EG02 · Autodesk
Civil 3D
2026
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit
- Architecture
- 64-bit Intel/AMD; ARM not supported
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 version 17763 or later or Windows 11RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum2.5-2.9 GHz base; ARM not supportedRecommended3+ GHz base, 4+ GHz turbo
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum20 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- Minimum2 GB VRAM, 29 GB/s bandwidth, DirectX 11Recommended8 GB VRAM, 106 GB/s bandwidth, DirectX 12; dedicated VRAM advised
- Display
- Minimum1920×1080 true colorRecommendedUp to 3840×2160 with recommended graphics
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is needed for installation and activation and periodically for subscription verification.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Autodesk publishes basic and recommended processor, memory, graphics, display, and disk values and explicitly excludes ARM processors.
Normalization: Large datasets, point clouds, and 3D modeling have higher additional storage and 12 GB VRAM guidance that is not substituted for the base recommendation.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2025-04-02
Accessed 2026-07-15
EG03 · MathWorks
MATLAB
R2026a
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 and Server; separate macOS Apple silicon and Linux releases
- Architecture
- Windows x86-64 or Qualcomm Snapdragon X under Prism; current Mac release is Apple silicon; Linux x86-64
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 22H2 or Windows 11 23H2; supported Server releasesRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel/AMD x86-64; Qualcomm Snapdragon X on Windows ARMRecommendedIntel/AMD x86-64 with four logical cores and AVX2
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum4.6 GBRecommended8 GB
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedWebGL 2.0 GPU with at least 2 GB memory for performant graphics
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Product installation and licensing may require connectivity; Parallel Computing Toolbox GPU acceleration has separate compute-capability requirements.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: MathWorks publishes Windows processor/architecture, RAM, storage, and graphics guidance and links platform-specific sibling pages.
Normalization: 4.6 GB is for MATLAB alone; 5-8 GB is a typical installation and 25 GB is all products. The recommended storage field uses the upper typical-installation value, not the all-products total.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
EG04 · COMSOL
COMSOL Multiphysics
6.4 Update 2
- Desktop platforms
- Windows, macOS, and Linux 64-bit
- Architecture
- Intel 64/AMD64 with SSE4; Apple silicon on macOS; ARM64 on supported Linux; Windows ARM not supported
- Operating system
- MinimumSupported Windows 10/11/Server, macOS 12-26, or listed Linux distributionRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel/AMD 64-bit with SSE4; Apple silicon; supported Linux ARM64RecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- Minimum2 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedOpenGL 2.1 hardware rendering; 2 GB or more graphics memory for all quality features
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- A network card and internet connection are required for installation; optional GPU solvers require supported NVIDIA CUDA hardware and drivers.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: COMSOL publishes architecture and OS tables, a 4 GB RAM minimum, a 2-25 GB installation range, and separate graphics and GPU-computing boundaries.
Normalization: The installation range depends on licensed products and options; 2 GB is stored as the numeric minimum and 25 GB remains documented here rather than mislabeled as a recommendation.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
EG05 · Ansys
Ansys desktop products
2026 R1
- Desktop platforms
- Supported 64-bit Windows and Linux releases vary by product
- Architecture
- x86-64 platform support; product-specific exceptions may apply
- Operating system
- MinimumSee the 2026 R1 platform-support tables for the installed productRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumOpenGL 4.5-capable graphics; recent professional GPU guidance varies by applicationRecommendedRecent NVIDIA or AMD professional graphics for full functionality; solver acceleration has separate certified CUDA requirements
- Display
- Minimum1024×768, 1366×768, or 1280×800 with 24-bit colorRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Licensing and installation components can require network access; GPU acceleration and remote-display behavior are product-specific.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: The current Ansys installation guide publishes an 8 GB RAM baseline and directs readers to release-specific platform and GPU support documents.
Normalization: Ansys is a product family with feature-specific requirements. The row deliberately avoids assigning one CPU, storage, or GPU model across solvers and applications where the vendor does not publish one base value.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
Data/statistics
Five current professional desktop applications
DS01 · IBM
IBM SPSS Statistics
31.0.x
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 64-bit and macOS; desktop is not supported on Linux
- Architecture
- 64-bit desktop operating systems
- Operating system
- MinimumCurrent supported 64-bit Windows or macOS release in IBM compatibility reportsRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Authorization and license management are tied to the computer; server editions have separate requirements.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: IBM identifies Windows and macOS 64-bit desktop packages for version 31 and states that the desktop software is not supported on Linux.
Normalization: IBM's detailed compatibility-report interface did not expose stable numeric hardware values in the retrievable public page, so RAM, storage, GPU, and display remain Not stated.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
DS02 · StataCorp
Stata and StataNow
19
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 and Server x86-64; macOS Intel/Apple silicon; Linux x86-64
- Architecture
- x86-64 on Windows/Linux; Intel or Apple silicon on Mac
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10/11; macOS 10.13 Intel or macOS 11 Apple silicon; 64-bit LinuxRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Internet can be used for updates and registration; network installations require an appropriate network license.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: The version 19 installation guide publishes current platform and architecture boundaries for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
Normalization: The official installation guide does not publish one numeric RAM, storage, GPU, or display baseline, so those fields remain Not stated.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
DS03 · JMP Statistical Discovery
JMP and JMP Pro
19
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 and Server; macOS requirements published separately
- Architecture
- x64; Windows ARM runs in emulation
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 build 17763 or later, Windows 11, or supported Windows ServerRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommended4 GB
- Storage
- Minimum2 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedHardware-accelerated 2D and 3D drivers
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommended1024×768 or greater, 32-bit color
- Internet/cloud
- Database connections and optional integrations have separate software requirements.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: JMP publishes Windows OS, x64/ARM-emulation, RAM, disk, display, graphics-driver, and integration requirements for version 19.
Normalization: The page calls 4 GB RAM and the display/graphics values recommended; it does not publish a separate numeric minimum RAM set for JMP 19.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-02-25
Accessed 2026-07-15
DS04 · Microsoft
Microsoft Power BI Desktop
Current rolling release
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10 or later and Windows Server 2016 or later
- Architecture
- 64-bit x64; Windows ARM requires a specified cumulative update
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 or Windows Server 2016 or laterRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommended1 GHz 64-bit x64 processor or better
- RAM
- Minimum2 GBRecommended4 GB
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- Minimum1440×900 or 1600×900 at 100% scalingRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- WebView2 and Microsoft Edge components are required; publishing, sign-in, updates, and Power BI service workflows require connectivity.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Microsoft publishes a minimum Windows, memory, display, and WebView2 set plus a recommended 64-bit processor and 4 GB memory.
Normalization: The source says at least 2 GB available RAM, not total installed memory. It does not publish a numeric disk-space requirement on this page.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
DS05 · Salesforce Tableau
Tableau Desktop
2026.1
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 8.1/10/11; macOS Ventura through Tahoe
- Architecture
- Windows Intel/AMD with SSE4.2 and POPCNT; Mac Intel or Apple silicon
- Operating system
- MinimumSupported Windows or macOS releaseRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel Core i3 or AMD Ryzen 3 dual-core; Mac Core i3 or Apple siliconRecommendedIntel Core i7 or AMD Ryzen 7 quad-core
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum2 GBRecommended2 GB
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Desktop can connect to Tableau Cloud/Server and data sources; virtualized environments are supported when the underlying Windows and CPU requirements are met.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Tableau publishes minimum and recommended processor, memory, and storage values for Windows and Mac plus Apple silicon support.
Normalization: The recommended storage wording changes the device type from HDD to SSD but retains the same 2 GB quantity.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
Video/creative
Five current professional desktop applications
VC01 · Adobe
Adobe Photoshop
27.x and later
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11; current supported macOS releases
- Architecture
- Multicore Intel, AMD, WinARM, or Apple silicon; AVX2/SSE4.2 requirements vary by platform
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 22H2/21H2 LTSC or Windows 11 23H2/24H2; supported macOS releaseRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumMulticore Intel, AMD, or WinARM; Intel/AMD require AVX2 and SSE4.2RecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum10 GBRecommended100 GB
- GPU
- MinimumDirectX 12 feature level 12_0 and 1.5 GB VRAM on Windows; Metal-capable MacRecommendedDirectX 12 and 4 GB VRAM for 4K displays; Mac 2 GB VRAM guidance
- Display
- Minimum1280×800Recommended1920×1080 or higher
- Internet/cloud
- Internet and registration are required for activation, membership validation, and online services.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Adobe publishes minimum and recommended RAM, storage, graphics/VRAM, and display values for Photoshop 27.x.
Normalization: The 100 GB recommendation supports application, scratch, and working headroom; actual project storage is workload-dependent.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-06-04
Accessed 2026-07-15
VC02 · Adobe
Adobe Premiere
26.0 and 26.2
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 24H2; supported macOS releases
- Architecture
- Intel/AMD x86 with AVX2; Qualcomm Snapdragon X on Windows ARM; Intel or Apple silicon on Mac
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 24H2; supported macOS releaseRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel 6th generation or AMD Ryzen 1000 series with AVX2; Snapdragon X on Windows ARMRecommendedIntel 11th generation with Quick Sync or AMD Ryzen/Threadripper 3000 series or newer
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum8 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- Minimum4 GB VRAM on Windows Intel/AMD/NVIDIA; qualifying Adreno driver on Windows ARMRecommendedGPU/VRAM recommendation varies by HD versus 4K workflow
- Display
- Minimum1920×1080Recommended1920×1080 or greater; HDR display for HDR workflows
- Internet/cloud
- Internet, Adobe ID, and license acceptance are required; hosted services may have additional availability and subscription boundaries.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Adobe separates minimum HD-editing requirements from recommended HD/4K requirements for current Premiere 26.x releases.
Normalization: Recommended RAM is coded as 32 GB because Adobe states 16 GB for HD and 32 GB or more for 4K and higher; the workflow split remains explicit here.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-04-15
Accessed 2026-07-15
VC03 · Adobe
Adobe After Effects
26.3
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 24H2; macOS Sonoma 14 or later
- Architecture
- Intel/AMD x86 with AVX2; Qualcomm Snapdragon X on Windows ARM; Intel or Apple silicon on Mac
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 24H2; macOS Sonoma 14RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumIntel 6th generation or AMD Ryzen 1000 series with AVX2; Snapdragon X on Windows ARMRecommendedIntel 11th generation with Quick Sync or AMD Ryzen/Threadripper 3000 series or newer; Apple silicon Pro/Max/Ultra
- RAM
- Minimum16 GBRecommended32 GB
- Storage
- Minimum8 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- Minimum4 GB VRAM on supported Windows discrete graphics; qualifying Adreno driver on ARMRecommended8 GB VRAM
- Display
- Minimum1440×900Recommended1920×1080 or greater; DisplayHDR 1000 for HDR workflows
- Internet/cloud
- Activation and Creative Cloud services require connectivity; media and cache drives are additional workload storage.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Adobe publishes separate Windows and Mac minimum/recommended processor, memory, graphics, storage, and display values for After Effects 26.3.
Normalization: Recommended RAM is coded as 32 GB for 4K and higher; Adobe lists 16 GB for HD. Additional high-speed media and cache storage is not converted into a base disk quantity.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-06-17
Accessed 2026-07-15
VC04 · Adobe
Adobe Illustrator
30.0 and later
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11; macOS Ventura 13 through Tahoe 26
- Architecture
- Windows Intel/AMD 64-bit with SSE4.2; Mac Intel 64-bit or Apple silicon
- Operating system
- MinimumSupported Windows 10/11 or macOS Ventura 13RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumMulticore Intel 64-bit with SSE4.2 or AMD Athlon 64 with SSE4.2RecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum2 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedMetal-capable Mac with 2 GB VRAM recommended; GPU requirements vary on Windows
- Display
- Minimum1024×768Recommended1920×1080
- Internet/cloud
- Activation, membership validation, and online services require internet access.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Adobe publishes minimum and recommended RAM/display values, installation storage, CPU instruction boundaries, and platform-specific GPU guidance for Illustrator 30.x.
Normalization: Windows installation requires 2 GB and Mac requires 3 GB; the numeric minimum records the lower platform value and preserves the split here.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-04-09
Accessed 2026-07-15
VC05 · Avid
Avid Media Composer
2025.12.1
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 64-bit; macOS Ventura 13 through Tahoe 26.2 for the current matrix
- Architecture
- Qualified Intel/AMD Windows systems; qualified Intel and Apple silicon Macs
- Operating system
- MinimumCurrent qualified Windows 11 or macOS release in the version matrixRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumSSE 4.1 instruction supportRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Avid Link handles licensing; Avid-qualified systems, GPU drivers, shared storage, and cloud workflows are version- and feature-specific.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Avid's current matrix records OS, Apple silicon, driver, and qualified-system boundaries for Media Composer 2025.12.1.
Normalization: Avid ties many memory, GPU, CPU, and storage values to codecs, stream counts, AI features, and qualified workstation models. The row leaves those base numeric fields Not stated instead of presenting a feature-specific number as universal.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-06-23
Accessed 2026-07-15
Accounting/business
Five current professional desktop applications
AB01 · Intuit
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise
Current subscription release
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit; supported Windows Server for multi-user hosting
- Architecture
- 64-bit Windows
- Operating system
- MinimumSupported Windows 10 or Windows 11 64-bitRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum2.4 GHzRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum2.5 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Subscriptions, payroll, payments, online banking, and connected services require internet access; cloud hosting is a separate delivery option.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Intuit publishes 64-bit Windows, processor, client RAM, server RAM, disk, SSD, and connected-service requirements.
Normalization: The 16 GB recommendation is the client recommendation. Multi-user server RAM scales from 8 GB for five users to 20 GB for 20 or more users.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
AB02 · Sage
Sage 50 Accounting – U.S. Edition
2026.0
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11; Windows Server 2019 or later for Terminal Services
- Architecture
- Intel/AMD Windows processor
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 21H1 or later or Windows 11 23H2 or laterRecommendedWindows 11 24H2 or later
- Processor
- Minimum2.0 GHzRecommended2.4 GHz, Intel Core i3 8th generation or AMD Ryzen 3 tier or higher
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum1 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- Minimum1280×800, 16-bit colorRecommended1440×900 or higher
- Internet/cloud
- Connected services and Remote Data Access require supported browsers and connectivity; hard-wired high-speed internet is recommended for Remote Data Access.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Sage publishes minimum and recommended CPU, RAM, OS, disk, display, browser, and remote-access requirements for release 2026.0.
Normalization: Recommended RAM is 8 GB or more for one user and 16 GB or more for multiple users; the numeric field preserves the higher multi-user recommendation.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2025-11-11
Accessed 2026-07-15
AB03 · Caseware
Caseware Working Papers
2025
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit; supported Windows Server/Citrix environments
- Architecture
- x64
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 or Windows 11 64-bitRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum1 GHz x64Recommended2 GHz
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommended8 GB
- Storage
- Minimum10 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is required during installation; Cloud integration uses a browser and supported versions of Working Papers; file-server and Citrix deployments have separate per-session guidance.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Caseware publishes workstation and hosted-environment requirements, including x64 Windows, CPU, RAM, disk, internet, and Office dependencies.
Normalization: The source calls 10 GB free disk space a minimum recommendation for installation and notes that templates and engagement files require additional space.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
AB04 · Alteryx
Alteryx Designer
2025.2+ current requirements
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 64-bit; macOS only through a Windows virtual machine
- Architecture
- 64-bit x86; ARM not supported
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 64-bitRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum4 cores, 2.5 GHz or fasterRecommended4 cores, 2.5 GHz or faster
- RAM
- Minimum8 GBRecommended16 GB
- Storage
- Minimum500 GBRecommended1000 GB
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Online activation requires access to the licensing whitelist; current 2026.1 components use WebView2; persistent and non-persistent Citrix VDI are supported.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Alteryx publishes minimum and high-performance Windows, CPU, RAM, disk, ARM, virtualization, and licensing requirements.
Normalization: The page states a 500 GB-1 TB disk-size range rather than application-installation free space; the numeric fields preserve the endpoints and do not imply the application consumes that capacity.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
AB05 · Microsoft
Microsoft 365 Apps for business and enterprise
Current subscription desktop apps
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 and supported Windows Server; three most recent macOS versions
- Architecture
- Windows x86/x64 or ARM on Windows 11; Mac Intel or Apple silicon per supported macOS
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 or supported Windows Server; one of three most recent macOS versionsRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumWindows 1.6 GHz dual-core; Mac supported Intel/Apple siliconRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- Minimum4 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumWindows graphics acceleration requires Direct3D 9.1+ with WDDM 1.3+; no Mac graphics requirementRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumWindows 1280×768; Mac 1280×800RecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is required for setup, activation, periodic subscription validation, updates, and cloud-backed services.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Microsoft publishes current desktop-client processor, OS, RAM, storage, display, graphics, browser, and connectivity requirements.
Normalization: Windows storage is 4 GB and Mac storage is 10 GB. The numeric field records the lower platform minimum and preserves the platform split here.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
Legal/document
Five current professional desktop applications
LD01 · Adobe
Adobe Acrobat Pro
Current continuous release
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 and supported Windows Server; supported macOS releases
- Architecture
- Intel/AMD Windows; Intel or Apple silicon Mac
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 v1809 or later or Windows 11 64-bit; supported macOS releaseRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum1.5 GHz Intel or AMDRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum2 GBRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- Minimum4.5 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumVideo hardware acceleration optionalRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- Minimum1024×768RecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Acrobat can integrate with hosted document services; activation and subscription features require connectivity.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Adobe publishes current Windows and Mac processor, OS, RAM, disk, display, and optional graphics-acceleration requirements.
Normalization: The row represents Acrobat Pro's continuous desktop release, not Acrobat Pro 2024 or Acrobat 2020.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2026-06-16
Accessed 2026-07-15
LD02 · Nuance
Dragon Professional
16
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11; Windows Server 2016/2019/2022
- Architecture
- Windows Intel/AMD; exact architecture not stated on the data sheet
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 or 11RecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- Minimum8 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Download and activation require connectivity; optional synchronization and Dragon Anywhere use cloud/mobile services.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Nuance publishes supported Windows releases, a 4 GB RAM minimum, and 8 GB free disk space for Dragon Professional v16.
Normalization: The initial candidate was Dragon Legal 16. It was replaced before publication because the Professional v16 data sheet exposes the current hardware evidence more reproducibly; the workflow remains document-intensive professional dictation.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
LD03 · ABBYY
ABBYY FineReader PDF
16
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 10/11 64-bit; supported Windows Server/Citrix environments
- Architecture
- x64
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 10 or Windows 11 64-bitRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum1 GHz x64Recommended1.5 GHz x64 Intel or AMD
- RAM
- Minimum2 GBRecommended4 GB
- Storage
- Minimum1.6 GBRecommended1.6 GB
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- Minimum1024×768Recommended1024×768 or higher
- Internet/cloud
- Internet is required to activate the serial number; centralized deployment and virtual-app environments are listed separately.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: ABBYY publishes minimum and recommended CPU, RAM, storage, display, activation, and virtualization requirements for FineReader PDF 16.
Normalization: The source also calls for another 1.6 GB free space for optimal operation; the recommended numeric field preserves the separately stated quantity rather than summing it into a synthetic total.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: 2023-10-19
Accessed 2026-07-15
LD04 · Litera
Litera Compare Desktop
Current supported desktop release
- Desktop platforms
- Windows 11 64-bit; Citrix on supported Windows Server; Windows VM path for Mac
- Architecture
- Windows x86 environment; application includes 32-bit process limits for large-document comparison
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows 11 64-bit 21H2 or laterRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- Minimum2.0 GHzRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- Minimum4 GBRecommended8 GB
- Storage
- Minimum2 GBRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- DMS integrations can use iManage, NetDocuments, SharePoint Online, OpenText, or Litera One components; Mac use requires a Windows virtual environment.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: Litera publishes base and OCR-specific CPU, RAM, disk, Windows, virtualization, and document-management integration requirements.
Normalization: Base values are coded. OCR comparison raises RAM to 8 GB minimum/16 GB recommended and uses temporary space per PDF; large documents have a documented 32-bit-process memory boundary.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
LD05 · iManage
iManage Work Desktop for Windows
10.8.0
- Desktop platforms
- Windows x64; connects to iManage Cloud or supported on-premises Work Server
- Architecture
- x64; Windows ARM not supported
- Operating system
- MinimumWindows x64 in the supported-platform listRecommendedNot stated
- Processor
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- RAM
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Storage
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- GPU
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Display
- MinimumNot statedRecommendedNot stated
- Internet/cloud
- Requires Agent Services, matching component versions, .NET, WebView2, and connectivity to iManage Cloud or a supported Work Server.
Evidence and normalization
Evidence: iManage publishes the client/server relationship, x64 Windows requirement, Windows ARM exclusion, Office integrations, .NET, and WebView2 prerequisites.
Normalization: The initial CaseMap candidate was replaced because the retrievable CaseMap requirement page was for an obsolete environment. iManage does not publish base RAM, storage, GPU, or display quantities on this requirements page, so those fields remain Not stated.
Open official vendor sourceSource date: Not shown
Accessed 2026-07-15
Download version 1.0.0
The CSV and JSON were generated from the same frozen 30-record source with deterministic field order. Retain row_id, source_url, access_date, and normalization_note when reusing records.
Direct .json media uploads are disabled by the site’s WordPress security policy, so the exact JSON file is packaged in a deterministic ZIP. The uncompressed JSON is also inspectable below and retains its own SHA-256 checksum.
Released: 2026-07-15. License: CC BY 4.0 for TPTK’s original selection, coding, arrangement, definitions, and synthesis. Vendor facts and source materials remain governed by their owners.
Verify SHA-256 checksums
CSV: ed32460942d5f14b1025ad3ebfac0cd96a42e9ecc92f3a76e9db53a47ddf61ff
JSON: bcf4b3a1216970f08fb792a50aee72eef9cbc91b0107830050cfe67e7ec86f6e
JSON ZIP: 2f8abaa8054c4755de4ba0d3471562332201514804717a55ff3fe8b6a990f0b6
Show the complete copyable CSV
Show the complete copyable JSON
Methodology and limitations
- Frozen inclusion method: before collection, the sample was capped at 30 tools with five applications in each of six families: design/CAD, engineering/GIS, data/statistics, video/creative, accounting/business, and legal/document.
- Inclusion rule: a recognizable professional desktop application needed a current, retrievable official vendor requirement or support source that exposed at least one decision-relevant platform, architecture, hardware, or delivery boundary.
- Row-level source rule: only official vendor documentation, product support, knowledge-base, or product pages support row facts. Retailers, forums, aggregators, and generated summaries were excluded.
- Conservative coding: minimum and recommended values remain separate. JSON uses
nulland CSV usesNot statedfor missing numeric values. Unstated does not mean zero. - No synthetic GPU score: APIs, VRAM, certified cards, driver requirements, acceleration features, and workload tiers are preserved as prose because they are not safely interchangeable.
- Dates: a publication or update date is recorded only when the official source displays one. All sources share the access date 2026-07-15.
- Limitations: requirements can vary by feature, project scale, plug-in, locale, release channel, license, virtualization environment, server topology, or cloud service. The benchmark does not performance-test hardware and does not estimate application market share.
Corrections: email hello@theprotoolkit.com with the row ID, exact claim, and current official vendor source. Material corrections receive a dated revision or new dataset version.

Twenty-nine-field data dictionary
row_id
Stable workflow-family-prefixed record identifier.
workflow_family
One of six quota-balanced professional workflow families.
application
Official product or release-family name represented by the row.
vendor
Official vendor or publisher.
version_label
Exact version/release family or current rolling-release label supported by the source.
delivery_model
Local desktop, desktop client plus cloud service, or browser/cloud with local client requirements.
desktop_platforms
Officially supported desktop operating-system families.
cpu_architecture
Explicit x86-64, ARM, Apple silicon, Intel, AMD, or emulation boundary.
minimum_os
Official minimum/supported OS boundary.
recommended_os
Official recommended OS boundary when separately stated.
minimum_cpu
Official minimum processor statement.
recommended_cpu
Official recommended processor statement.
minimum_ram_gb
Explicit minimum RAM in GB; JSON null and CSV Not stated when absent.
recommended_ram_gb
Explicit recommended RAM in GB; workload split stays in notes.
minimum_storage_gb
Explicit minimum/free installation storage in GB when comparable.
recommended_storage_gb
Explicit recommended storage quantity in GB when separately stated.
minimum_gpu
Source-faithful minimum GPU/API/VRAM language; no synthetic scoring.
recommended_gpu
Source-faithful recommended GPU/API/VRAM language; no model equivalence.
minimum_display
Official minimum display/resolution boundary.
recommended_display
Official recommended display/resolution boundary.
internet_or_cloud_notes
Connectivity, sign-in, browser, hosted-processing, synchronization, or client/service dependency.
minimum_set_published
Whether the source supplies an explicit or clearly bounded baseline/minimum set.
recommended_set_published
Whether the source supplies an explicit recommended/preferred set.
source_url
Direct official vendor URL used for row-level facts.
source_title
Visible official source title.
source_published_or_updated
ISO source date when shown; otherwise Not shown.
access_date
ISO date TPTK retrieved and coded the source.
evidence_note
Concise paraphrase of the official evidence used for the row.
normalization_note
Unit conversion, platform split, scope caveat, replacement, or honest-null explanation.
How to cite this benchmark
Suggested citation:
The Pro Tool Kit. (2026, July 15). “Professional Software System Requirements Benchmark: 30 Desktop Apps (2026)” (Version 1.0.0). https://theprotoolkit.com/professional-software-system-requirements-benchmark-2026/#cite
When quoting a finding, retain the bounded-sample context: 30 official vendor records, five applications in each of six professional workflow families, accessed July 15, 2026.
Questions about using the benchmark
What computer specification should a team compare first?
Start with the operating system and processor architecture supported by every required application. A high-spec device is still a poor fit if a required local client is Windows-only, excludes ARM, or depends on an unsupported virtualization path.
Should minimum or recommended software requirements drive a device standard?
Use the official recommended values when they are published and the workflow is recurring. Minimum values are installation or launch boundaries, not a promise of comfortable performance on large projects. Preserve workload-specific caveats instead of averaging vendor requirements.
Does a cloud subscription remove local hardware requirements?
Not necessarily. Every application in this bounded benchmark still uses a local desktop application or desktop client. Cloud licensing, storage, collaboration, or processing can coexist with local OS, architecture, memory, graphics, and display requirements.
Can this dataset be used to rank laptops or workstations?
No universal ranking is justified. The dataset is designed to identify compatibility boundaries and the highest relevant official requirement across a known application set. GPU descriptions remain source-faithful because vendor APIs, VRAM tiers, certified-driver lists, and workload guidance are not interchangeable scores.