Student Software Compatibility by Major: 30-Program Windows vs Mac Benchmark (2026)

Original source-coded research – version 1.0.0 – checked July 15, 2026

The software list, not the major name, should control the Windows-or-Mac decision

Direct answer: in this purposive 30-program benchmark, 26 programs required or recommended Windows, and 12 discouraged or prohibited Macs. A Mac can still fit some programs, but only when the department’s named applications, Apple Silicon position, and lab or remote fallback are all current and explicit.

Five official policies in each of six software-intensive disciplines. This is a source directory and comparison benchmark, not a nationally representative survey.

26/30required or recommended Windows
12/30discouraged or did not permit Macs
8/30published negative virtualization guidance

What the 30 official program policies show

“A compatible operating system is not enough when the required application, plug-in, graphics path, or support policy is different.”

TPTK synthesis of the coded sample. Quote with the 30-program purposive-sample context.

  • Windows pressure was broad: 26 of 30 reviewed policies required or recommended Windows, even though several still allowed Macs with conditions or supported both platforms.
  • Mac treatment was not binary: 12 policies discouraged or did not permit Macs, while other programs supported Macs, accepted them conditionally, or relied on lab and virtual-workstation access.
  • Virtualization was a policy question: eight policies published negative guidance about virtualization or using it as a substitute. Only three explicitly addressed Apple Silicon-era compatibility.
  • Fallbacks were uncommon and specific: seven policies named a physical lab, virtual lab, remote workstation, or comparable fallback. A fallback named by one department should not be inferred for another.
  • Secondary devices remained secondary: six policies explicitly restricted Chromebooks or tablets or described them only as secondary devices.
Before buying: open the source for your exact program, confirm it applies to your cohort, compare its named software with current vendor support, and ask the department how it handles remote coursework. “Not stated” means the reviewed public policy did not answer that field.
University technology advisers comparing software requirements that control the Windows or Mac decision
Across the sample, software and support rules changed the hardware answer more often than the discipline label alone.

All 30 program policies with row-level official sources

The cards preserve the 14 coded fields without a sideways-scrolling table. Every row links directly to the official institution, school, department, or program source checked on July 15, 2026.

Interior design

Five official program policies

ID01 – Interior design

Virginia Commonwealth University

Interior Design

Named software
Revit 2025; Enscape
Windows
Required
Mac
Not permitted
Virtualization
Rejected
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Policy says Windows-only software does not run on macOS and Parallels or VMware is not adequate.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ID02 – Interior design

University of Florida

Interior Design

Named software
Revit; AutoCAD Architecture; Enscape; Lumion; SketchUp; Adobe Creative Cloud
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Discouraged
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Mac is not supported by several key packages; Boot Camp or Parallels is possible but not recommended.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ID03 – Interior design

Central Michigan University

Interior Design

Named software
Revit and Windows-taught design software
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Windows computer labs
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Program strongly recommends Windows and teaches on Windows workstations.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ID04 – Interior design

Meredith College

Interior Design

Named software
AutoCAD; Revit; Enscape; SketchUp Pro; Adobe applications
Windows
Required
Mac
Not permitted
Virtualization
Rejected
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Declared majors must maintain a Windows PC; Macs are not permitted.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ID05 – Interior design

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Interior Architecture

Named software
AutoCAD; Revit; Adobe Creative Suite; SketchUp; Enscape
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Not stated
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Program requires a laptop compatible with the named applications and publishes Windows PC specifications.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Architecture

Five official program policies

AR01 – Architecture

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Architecture

Named software
Rhino 8; V-Ray; Adobe Creative Cloud; Revit; Maya
Windows
Required
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Boot Camp path stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

MacBook Pro is accepted only with Windows in Boot Camp; V-Ray licenses are Windows-only.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

AR02 – Architecture

University of Virginia

Architecture

Named software
Adobe Creative Cloud; AutoCAD; Rhino; R; ArcGIS Pro; Revit; Rhino/Grasshopper plugins
Windows
Supported
Mac
Supported
Virtualization
Supported
Apple Silicon stated
Yes
Lab or remote fallback
Virtual workstations available
Chromebook or tablet
Secondary devices only

Both platforms are supported; Windows-only tools can use virtual desktops or Parallels including Windows ARM on M-series Macs.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

AR03 – Architecture

University of Maryland

Architecture

Named software
Adobe Creative Cloud; AutoCAD; Revit; Microsoft 365; Rhino; SketchUp Pro
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

MacBook Pro is described as unsuitable for VR/modeling; Revit, Navisworks, and Lumion are not supported on macOS.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

AR04 – Architecture

University of Michigan Taubman College

Architecture

Named software
Revit; ArcGIS; V-Ray for Rhino; Enscape for Rhino; Unreal Engine
Windows
Supported
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Rejected or poor for named apps
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Secondary devices only

Macs are allowed but many named applications are Windows-only and emulators may be unsupported or perform poorly.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

AR05 – Architecture

Pratt Institute

Bachelor of Architecture

Named software
Rhino; AutoCAD; Revit; Adobe Creative Cloud
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Program notes that some required architecture software runs only on Windows and labels Mac alternatives not recommended.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Landscape architecture

Five official program policies

LA01 – Landscape architecture

California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo

Landscape Architecture

Named software
Adobe Creative Cloud; Microsoft 365; AutoCAD; Rhino; Lumion; ArcGIS Pro; Google Earth Pro
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Windows is the safest recommendation because ArcGIS Pro and Lumion are Windows-only or perform better there.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

LA02 – Landscape architecture

University of Oregon

Landscape Architecture

Named software
Windows-centric architecture and landscape applications
Windows
Required
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Rejected
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

A Windows PC without virtualization is specified; Apple workarounds are described as non-standard and unsupported.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

LA03 – Landscape architecture

University of Manitoba

Landscape Architecture

Named software
Adobe Creative Cloud; Microsoft Office; QGIS; AutoCAD; Rhino; Vectorworks; ArcGIS Pro
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Supported
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
Yes
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Windows is recommended for ArcGIS compatibility; the policy also publishes an Apple M4-or-better option.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

LA04 – Landscape architecture

Texas A&M University

Landscape Architecture

Named software
ArcGIS Pro; CityEngine; Lumion; Rhino
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Blocked

macOS laptops are not recommended and Chromebooks are not suitable for design work.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

LA05 – Landscape architecture

University of Pennsylvania Weitzman School

Landscape Architecture

Named software
ArcGIS Pro and design applications
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Rejected
Apple Silicon stated
Yes
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Mac use is strongly discouraged; ArcGIS Pro cannot be adequately virtualized with Parallels on Apple Silicon.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Mechanical engineering

Five official program policies

ME01 – Mechanical engineering

University of Florida

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Named software
MATLAB; SolidWorks; LabVIEW
Windows
Required
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not supported
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Department says students should use a computer that natively runs Windows and does not support Mac use.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ME02 – Mechanical engineering

University of Utah

Mechanical Engineering

Named software
SolidWorks; MATLAB; Arduino; Microsoft Office
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Allowed with fallback
Virtualization
Remote access described as problematic
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
CADE remote lab possible
Chromebook or tablet
Blocked

Mac/Linux cannot run SolidWorks locally; Chromebook and iPad cannot run the required software.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ME03 – Mechanical engineering

University of Texas at Austin

Mechanical Engineering

Named software
Windows-only required course software
Windows
Required
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Virtual Windows required for Mac
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Required course software does not run on macOS; Macs need extra resources and a Windows virtual environment.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ME04 – Mechanical engineering

University of Maine

Mechanical Engineering

Named software
SolidWorks
Windows
Required
Mac
Not stated
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Students are required to have a Microsoft Windows laptop capable of running SolidWorks.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

ME05 – Mechanical engineering

South Dakota State University

Mechanical Engineering

Named software
Windows-only mechanical engineering software
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Dual boot or VM stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Mac can run Windows software through dual boot or a VM but glitches and incomplete functionality are expected.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Multi-discipline engineering

Five official program policies

EN01 – Multi-discipline engineering

University of Texas at Arlington

College of Engineering

Named software
MATLAB; Mathematica; SolidWorks; CATIA; ABAQUS; ANSYS
Windows
Supported
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Emulation verification advised
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Windows computer labs
Chromebook or tablet
Blocked

Full desktop OS is required; Windows runs all required MAE software while Mac users must verify emulation.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

EN02 – Multi-discipline engineering

University of South Florida

College of Engineering

Named software
Aspen; MATLAB; COMSOL; SolidWorks; AutoCAD; Mathematica; Python; C/C++
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Not stated
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

College lists current Windows and a broad set of engineering applications as the supported academic-use target.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

EN03 – Multi-discipline engineering

Northeastern University

College of Engineering

Named software
Microsoft Office; AutoCAD; MATLAB; SolidWorks
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Supported through virtual lab
Virtualization
Virtual lab supported
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
COE Virtual Lab
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Many packages are Windows-only, while VLAB supports Windows, macOS, and Linux clients.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

EN04 – Multi-discipline engineering

Vanderbilt University

School of Engineering

Named software
Microsoft Windows application software
Windows
Required
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Biomedical, civil, electrical/computer, environmental, and mechanical students are told to use a PC rather than a Mac.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

EN05 – Multi-discipline engineering

University of Colorado Denver

College of Engineering Design and Computing

Named software
SolidWorks; MATLAB; SAS; Python; Geomagic; AutoCAD; ANSYS; Revit; Navisworks; Primavera; Bluebeam; Procore
Windows
Required
Mac
Not stated
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Published program matrices specify Windows 11 64-bit and name software by engineering discipline.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Geoscience and GIS

Five official program policies

GI01 – Geoscience and GIS

University of Texas at Austin Jackson School

Geosciences

Named software
MATLAB; ArcGIS Pro; Microsoft Office
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
VirtualBox or VMware path stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Blocked

Windows is typically recommended; Mac users need Windows virtualization for ArcGIS Pro.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

GI02 – Geoscience and GIS

University of Central Arkansas

Geography GIS Certificate

Named software
ArcGIS; ERDAS Imagine
Windows
Not stated
Mac
Not stated
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

All courses require current Esri ArcGIS software; one course also requires ERDAS Imagine. OS posture is not stated on the program page.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

GI03 – Geoscience and GIS

University of Colorado Boulder

Geography

Named software
ArcGIS Desktop; ArcGIS Pro
Windows
Required for local ArcGIS
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Virtual machine or Boot Camp path stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Not stated
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

ArcGIS is Windows-only and does not run natively on a Mac.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

GI04 – Geoscience and GIS

Appalachian State University

Geography and Planning

Named software
ArcGIS and Windows-based geography/planning packages
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Discouraged
Virtualization
Boot Camp complications noted
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Department computers and uDesk
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Department does not recommend Apple laptops because most required packages are Windows-based.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

GI05 – Geoscience and GIS

Appalachian State University

Geological and Environmental Sciences

Named software
ArcGIS; field data collection software; Google Earth Pro
Windows
Recommended
Mac
Allowed with conditions
Virtualization
Not stated
Apple Silicon stated
No
Lab or remote fallback
Windows computer labs
Chromebook or tablet
Not stated

Windows 11 is preferred because GIS and field-device software may not run on Mac.

Open official program sourceChecked 2026-07-15

Download the versioned dataset

The CSV and JSON were generated from the same frozen 30-record source. Retain row_id, source_url, and checked_date when reusing records.

Released: 2026-07-15. License: CC BY 4.0 for TPTK’s original selection, coding, arrangement, field definitions, and aggregate analysis.

Verify SHA-256 checksums

CSV: 37d3fef2615d94020c0d955d7c9cdf3bbabe6df3f637d78ec149a6a9aa9e74d0

JSON: fbf09c1f17c85c9eae62d5f503fba98c786cec600a243fa5a96c119a74bede7a

Show the complete copyable CSV

Show the complete copyable JSON

Methodology, scope, and limitations

  • Sample design: a purposive quota of five official program policies in each of six disciplines: interior design, architecture, landscape architecture, mechanical engineering, multi-discipline engineering, and geoscience or GIS.
  • Inclusion rule: the official source had to name coursework software and publish a relevant operating-system, compatibility, virtualization, device, or fallback statement.
  • Primary-source rule: vendor marketing, retailers, forums, and third-party summaries were excluded from row coding.
  • Conservative coding: “Not stated” means the reviewed source did not publish that field. It does not mean the institution has no internal rule or that an unstated device is supported.
  • Finding denominators: every aggregate uses all 30 coded rows unless the text explicitly says otherwise. No finding is presented as a national prevalence estimate.
  • Limitations: policies can change by course, studio, campus, cohort, instructor, software version, license, or support capacity. This benchmark does not test every application on every device.

Corrections: email hello@theprotoolkit.com with the row ID and current official source. Material corrections will receive a new version or dated revision.

Student comparing native Windows, virtual desktop, and Mac fallback paths for required coursework software
Virtualization can be a supported pathway, a discouraged compromise, or an explicit non-solution. The official program policy decides.

Fourteen-field data dictionary

row_id

Stable discipline-prefixed record identifier.

discipline

One of six purposive sample categories.

institution

Official institution name.

program

Program or department represented by the source.

software_named

Coursework applications explicitly named by the source.

windows_posture

Coded official posture toward Windows.

mac_posture

Coded official posture toward macOS hardware.

virtualization_guidance

Official treatment of Boot Camp, Parallels, VMware, virtual labs, or equivalent paths.

apple_silicon_explicit

Whether the source explicitly addresses Apple Silicon or ARM-era compatibility.

lab_or_remote_fallback

Named physical-lab, virtual-lab, remote-workstation, or uDesk fallback.

chromebook_tablet_guidance

Explicit main-device restriction or secondary-device treatment.

source_url

Direct official primary-source URL.

checked_date

Date TPTK checked and coded the source.

source_note

Concise separation of source evidence from TPTK coding.

How to cite this benchmark

Suggested citation:

The Pro Tool Kit. (2026, July 15). "Student Software Compatibility by Major: 30-Program Windows vs Mac Benchmark (2026)." https://theprotoolkit.com/student-software-compatibility-by-major-2026/#cite

When quoting a finding, retain the purposive-sample context: 30 official program policies, five in each of six software-intensive disciplines, checked July 15, 2026.

For schools or teams that need a clearer public requirements page, TPTK also offers AI-ready website and structured content services.

Frequently asked questions

Do architecture and engineering students need Windows?

Often, but the program's named software should decide. In this purposive 30-program sample, 26 programs required or recommended Windows. That is a sample finding, not a national prevalence estimate.

Can an Apple Silicon Mac run required student software through virtualization?

Sometimes, but it is not a universal workaround. Only three reviewed policies explicitly addressed Apple Silicon, while eight published negative virtualization guidance. Students should require current written program support before relying on a virtualized Windows path.

Does a campus computer lab make a Mac purchase safe?

Not automatically. Seven reviewed policies named a lab or remote fallback, but access hours, course expectations, licensing, and off-campus work can still matter. Confirm the exact fallback with the department before buying.

Is this a representative survey of all college majors?

No. It is a reproducible purposive benchmark of 30 official policies: five programs in each of six software-intensive disciplines. It is designed to compare policy patterns and provide a source directory, not estimate national rates.

Leave a Comment